Tokyo eats: Aoyama Flower Market Tea House

Some of the peeps I follow on Instagram seriously have the best recommendations on places to suss out!!  As they say, caring is sharing and I guess you could use it interchangeably.   One of the places that I saw on Pam’s feed was this amazing cafe / tea-house at Aoyama Flower Market.  Did some research on the place and was suitably impressed with the lovely pictures taken at this quaint cafe, so made a mental note to check it out during our recent trip to Tokyo.

IMG_4492The nearest train station to get to Aoyama Flower Market would be Omote-Sando station.  We got out from the right exit but made a wrong turn and ended up navigating the small lanes of Aoyama before eventually reaching the place.  I guess the Man just wanted me to walk more during the trip and this is his way of doing so.

IMG_4493Thankfully after about 10 minutes on our feet, we eventually found the place.  I was so pleased for it meant that my feet could finally take a break from the copious amounts of walking we had done for the day.

IMG_4494The surroundings of Aoyama Flower Market Tea House were serene and peaceful.  Mirrored after a green-house concept, we were treated to a lovely view of Ranunculus flowers that were gorgeously displayed all over the restaurant.  Yes, just the view I needed and the break my feet so badly thanked me for.

It’s a tea-house so don’t expect to be served coffee here.  The beverage menu largely consisted of different blends of floral and non-floral tea.   The Man was craving badly for a cup of caffeine so he felt slightly cheated for not having one.  As for me, I indulged in a floral blended tea with a mix of rose and lychee flavours (I think). IMG_4496To satisfy the hungry, Aoyama Flower Market Tea House does have a humble selection of food items, from salads, sandwiches and this AMAZING floral french toast which no qualms about it, I just have to have it!  It was indeed a visual feast when the plate was set in front of us with the french toast all dressed prettily with florals and dainty slices of fruit.  Helped that taste-wise, this was really good as well.  🙂

IMG_4497 IMG_4498 IMG_4499If you are ever in Tokyo and looking for a relaxing afternoon away from the hustle-and-bustle of city life, do pop into Aoyama Flower Market Tea House.  It’s easy to just chill the day away sipping tea, munching on light bites with a book in hand.  Well, that’s what we did for a bit.

Aoyama Flower Market Tea House
Address: 5-1-2, MinamiAoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Phone Number: 03-3400-0887
Website: www.afm-teahouse.com

Leave a comment