Pigmentation during pregnancy

Arh yes, I heard horror stories on that. In fact, J suggested that I pay special attention to my face during the 2nd and 3rd trimester where pigmentation on the skin could occur and sometimes is irreversible.  Yikes!  Freckles on my nose or face which I used to think were cute obviously are not with age.  So I switched to a higher SPF coverage for sunscreen and made extra effort to apply sun-screen all the way down my neck in the hope of prevention those dreaded age-spots during pregnancy.

Here’s an interesting article on Baby Centre about pigmentation during pregnancy.  Took out some key points to share:

  • It is common for pregnant women to develop blotchy areas of darkened skin, commonly called the mask of pregnancy (but officially known as chloasma or melasma gravidarum).
  • The patches can show up around your upper lip, nose, cheekbones, and forehead, sometimes in the shape of a mask. They may also appear on your cheeks or along your jawline. You may develop dark patches on your forearms and other parts of your body that are exposed to the sun.
  • What’s more, you may find that skin that is already more pigmented – such as your nipples, freckles, scars, and the skin of your genitals – becomes even darker during pregnancy. This also tends to happen in areas prone to friction, such as your underarms and inner thighs.
  • These changes may be triggered by hormonal changes during pregnancy, which stimulate a temporary increase in your body’s production of melanin, the natural substance that gives color to hair, skin, and eyes. Sun exposure plays a role, too.
  • The areas of increased pigmentation will probably fade within a few months after delivery and your skin should return to its normal shade, although in some women the changes never completely disappear.

Unfortunately, I’m not spared of this darkening of skin during pregnancy.  I just hope that the skin will return to its normal shade after delivery.  Wish me luck!! Does anyone have similar experiences to share?  Does it go away?

 

4 thoughts on “Pigmentation during pregnancy

  1. libbyty says:

    Don’t worry ! It happened to me, too, on my underarms and I was so grossed out about it I considered going for laser, but post-pregnancy (2.5 months) its disappeared ! Don’t fret and enjoy the last weeks of your pregnancy 🙂

    • Lady J says:

      Arh thanks for sharing! It’s also happening on my underarms and I’m really conscious about wearing sleeveless outfits. 😦 Seriously, I’m thinking about going for IPL post pregnancy. I hope it goes away too… fingers crossed!

  2. pinkgrapefruit says:

    Ditto for the underarms. And an unexpected place: brown pigmentation at the side of my breasts. Not very obvious but they were definitely not there before. Hope they will fade away fast!

    • Lady J says:

      And I thought pigmentation could only occur on the face 😦 Yikes.. I hope all these pigmentation will go away for you too after birth!!!

Leave a Reply

