The beancurd wars at Old Airport Road Hawker Centre

Book Junkie in one of her posts talked about the famed beancurd at Old Airport Road Hawker Centre.  That piqued my interest for I’ve been to the Old Airport Road Hawker Centre countless of times but hardly recalled the long queues for beancurd of any sorts.  Turned out I missed out the ‘hot piece of action‘ that was happening in our tiny island.  Hehe.

I tried bugging the little one to queue for me to get the beancurd but she refused of course.  Said that she had better things to do!  Well, it’s true but I really wanted to try for myself what the fuss was all about.  So yesterday, while waiting for the sisters, I decided to head on down to Old Airport Road to go see what the rage was all about!  This was after a heavy lunch / coffee with the Imp, a tea-time beverage with the cousins and then a pre-dinner snack before drinks with Princess Min.  Phew.. I need major detox when I return back to Geneva.

According to my sister, the famed store of the lot is Lao Ban Beancurd.  I  wasn’t sure where the store was exactly.  I thought I’ll let the snaking long queues guide me to the store.  Turned out they weren’t opened on Monday.  BAH!  Well, moving on to store #2 then which was just 2 stalls down.  Ordered a chilled bowl of Almond Beancurd and waited for the little one to come by before tucking into the dessert.  I kinda enjoyed the Almond Beancurd from the ’51 stall’.  It had a malt-ish taste to it and the almond essence provided a touch of relief for the throat.

Greed got the better of us and the little sister decided to try another bowl of beancurd.  This time from the Bean Flower Water stall.  They had funky flavours such as durian, strawberry and blueberry.  We went really experimental with our choice of durian beancurd.  It does taste a little strange to have the durian flavours infused in the beancurd. I didn’t quite enjoy it but the little one thought the stall owners were rather ingenious to have come up with this flavour.

I guess after this, my cravings for the beancurd have been duly satisfied… Moving along ….

4 thoughts on “The beancurd wars at Old Airport Road Hawker Centre

  1. bookjunkie says:

    I found it to be a whole different product from the usual beancurd. Never imagined I would like it chilled. Glad you tried it. Airport Road Hawker Centre really has everything 🙂

    • Lady J says:

      You’re right… it’s definitely a twist to the original beancurd. I used to like it warm and eaten at breakfast rather than a tea-time dessert. And Old Airport Road Hawker Centre really does have everything.. love that it used to be a stone’s throw away from my old home.

    • Lady J says:

      The little one thought it was pretty good.. the taste wasn’t artificial at all. I didn’t quite like it as much though.. you should try it when you come back.

Leave a comment