stuck in rut.

Oh-kay, mid-week grumblings… It’s been raining almost the entire day and I’m a grumpy Lady when I’m stuck at home!  Technically, I could have gone out but there’s something lulling about the rain.  It puts me in a sleepy mood and I end up not wanting to go out.   Plus, I hate getting wet so I rather just stay indoors.

On to my day 3 of rantings – The movers came, packed and was gone within 1.5 hours.  I thought not too bad, seeing that the Man and I packed quite haphazardly the night before.

Also, 17 boxes of stuff between the 2 of us was another achievement!  The last time I moved from Singapore to Japan, my load itself was already 20 over boxes.  Not to mention, the move from Japan back to Singapore, the 2 of us accumulated so much stuff that we had a full-sized container to bring back over 100 boxes of stuff.  The movers were amazed by the sheer amount of things we have for just a young couple cos that’s the amount of boxes that a family of 4 would bring.

Since I wasn’t in the mood to head out, I started surfing the net and stumbled on a couple new blogs and this article – ‘No one cares what you did last weekend‘.  As I read the article, I thought to myself, ‘Oh dear.. I think I might have just put a couple of people asleep with my ‘5 things’ post and this week-long running commentary about the move to S-land.’  I went into a momentary state of depression thinking how torturous it must have been to read the posts.

But then, I took a step back and thought it can’t be all that bad.. I mean there are some really sweet bloggers out there who are genuinely interested in finding out about my life.  Last night convo with Del (my long-time schoolmate) also revealed that she enjoys living her life vicariously through me.

So, there… I’m going to continue blogging the way I do… there will be good days where my creative juices will just flow but there will also be days where I will experience a little something called the ‘blogger’s- block’.  That’s where I hope I will get your help to spur me on to tell me in all honesty what turns you ‘on’.  Sorry, I meant to say.. what makes you click.. hehe.

Before I end, I’ll like to share a post (that really speaks from the heart) from one of my favourite bloggers – BookJunkie from Tiny Island.  She’s such a sweetheart and will always take the extra effort to reply to each and every comment left on her blog.  I think that’s an admirable trait and she inspires me to do the same for each comment that I receive here on my blog too.

Thanks for all the blog- you’ve given through your comments for they really inspire me and spur me to keep blogging. And if it’s not too much to ask for, I hope you’ll continue to keep the lovin coming as ‘a blog is a lonely place without your comments (quote by BookJunkie)’.

4 thoughts on “stuck in rut.

  1. bookjunkie says:

    What your wrote touched me. Thanks so much for the shout-out.

    And I must say that I enjoy your writing style and short snippets of your life which is why I keep coming by. You write from the heart and I can see why you’re so popular at work and everyones sad to see you go.

    Also feel on some days like I’m in a rut and wonder what I’m doing it all for. Enjoyed the link you attached…very useful writing tips. Like the part about including dialogue. I agree about the short sentences too.

    And super cool!! Never been quoted before. What a thrill!!!

    hugs

  2. Lady J says:

    Thanks bookjunkie… what you said on your blog post really touched me too and I can’t believe that you mentioned me on your blog.

    I like how you write just about anything under the sun. Through your blog, I not only learned more about you personally but also alot of useful information – twitter / sparkling vs still water / etc. Not to mention, you keep me updated on celebrity gossip – my guilty pleasure!

    Thanks for writing from your heart and opening a part of your life through your writing. Please don’t stop what you’re doing for you’re doing is great! 🙂

  3. Melissa {momcomm} says:

    Thanks for linking to my post and I’m glad you decided not to be depressed about that! Blogs are such personal things so I totally know that we all like to tell stories about what’s going on in our lives. It’s just that some people feel like they tell their stories the same way so I wanted to give some other creative ways to tell a story. I agree that comments inspire us to keep going but I also have to remind myself that many people never comments but read a blog just the same! Yay for that, right?!

  4. Lady J says:

    I agree with you Mel, a blog is very personal and your article did shed some insights on how I can tell my story better instead of a daily run-down, which I’m guilty of – a boring encounter of my happenings on one-too-many-posts.

    I’m trying to be a better writter/blogger and really enjoyed reading the articles that you’ve posted on Momcomm esp the ‘Comment Vomit’ one (http://www.momcomm.com/2011/02/comment-vomit-how-not-to-leave-comments/). Again, guilty of using some but now that I know, I’ll make a conscious effort in writing better with your tips.

    Lastly, yup and YAY for the many people who reads our blogs and giving their support in their own way (with or without comments). Thank you! 😉

Leave a comment