sweet beginnings and a fond farewell.

So, the man’s idea of a housewarming cum farewell party involved inviting almost all his friends to our new pad.  All 50 of his friends came, and the drinks came flowing from 2.30pm.  I was slightly buzzed in the evening and very buzzed before the night ended. All in all, good fun, delicious food (thanks to the Holiday Inn’s catering services of local fare) and delectable desserts plus awesome company made for a very lovely party as we said our goodbyes to friends.

The only thing that was left to my charge for the party was the flowers (kinda easy peasy as I dress the loft with flowers on a weekly basis) and the desserts.  The later was not very necessary as the man thought that the local food would suffice, but as I love putting in the finishing touches for a party, I took upon myself to come up a fun design for the dessert part of the party.

I’ve searched high and low for a baker in Singapore to help with the cake pops as I was clearly fascinated with the petite fours that I’ve had previously at Ristorante Aso.  I was determined to recreate a similar dessert offering with the cupcake pops.  Imagine my happiness when I finally managed to chance upon Happy Bake’s site.  Sandy from Happy Bakes  was such a lovely lady to work with and she helped transform my sweets idea into a reality.

Here are the cake pops which were a hit with our guests and my little nephew Isaac!  I stuffed the pops in our drinking glasses and placed a few of these along the dining table.  For the main dessert centerpiece, I filled my vase with stones and stuck the pops along with some fresh florals.  In this way, guests could help themselves to the desserts after they finished with their main meal.

Also, while surfing on Happy Bake’s site, I was also drawn to these hand-painted cookies that she had.  So I added into my order a couple of the cookies to add on to the dessert selection.  The lemon cookies came in a cute snowflake shape and a suitcase design to symbolise our departure from sunny Singapore.

I think I did a pretty decent job on our desserts, what do you think?  😉  Also, if you have any other ideas for sweets at parties, I love to hear them if you would so kindly share.

7 thoughts on “sweet beginnings and a fond farewell.

Leave a comment