My love affair with Cheongsams

When I was younger, I did shy away from wearing cheongsams for the cut was too tight, restrictive and the look was too traditional. Now that I’m a little older, I kinda like wearing cheongsams out for special occasions. Thankfully, the style is no longer restrictive with the fit updated to suit different body types.


I fell in love with the signature cut-out dress featuring the Mandarin Collar from I want the Missing Piece. The side cut outs at just the right spot give the illusion of a tiny waist without any unnecessary hangovers. I’ve gone on to own four of these pieces in various colours simply because they look great for most ocassions (formal and smart casual). Clearly, one is not enough for me.

About two months back, Ee Ling from I want the Missing Piece invited me and the Bub to be part of a fashion show that she was organising as part of Kids Day Out at the Botanic Gardens. I was quite honoured to be honest to be picked as one of the moms for the event. My only worry was whether the Bub would even be able to sashay down the catwalk properly. This was the second time that she would be involved in an event like this but I trust she has no clue what is happening around her, must less trusted to walk in a straight line.

Here’s a pic of us in matching Red Lace Cheongsams available online at The Missing Piece  about an hour before we are due for the catwalk debut. I did what I possibly could to prep the Bub for this event. The time for the show was about 4.30pm, this meant that I could put the Bub down for an afternoon nap so that she wouldn’t get cranky. From my past experience, this was important as I couldn’t risk having a cranky child having a meltdown on the runway.

And of course, things never quite go as planned with an active toddler around. When it was our turn to walk, the Bub preferred to be the one leading the way and poor Mama had to run behind her. She did cause quite a cheer on the walkway with the audience laughing at her.

Or perhaps she enjoyed being at the centre of attention that she did another walk on the runway (we only needed to walk once).  Well, at least she had fun.

Thanks Ee Ling from The Missing Piece for the kind invitation to join you at this event. It was a memorable experience indeed and we loved the dresses that you put us in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

