Trying to keep up..

Don’t you feel that there’s always a constant need to try to keep up? Apart from appearances, it’s also trying to keep up with the rest of the world. Social media seems to be the most efficient tool to utilise to keep up with the ongoings of the world. But sometimes it does become quite the monster in its own right.

I question myself as I scroll the hundreds of pictures in squares on our IG feed, I wonder if the pictures are a true reflection of one’s life. Sometimes it is but sometimes it isn’t. I’m guilty of that, I post pictures of the Bub smiling but behind that smile could have been a meltdown waiting to happen. We don’t post pictures of those for we are either busy dealing with the situation or it’s just not picture-perfect of one’s life.

So perhaps this is a reminder to self. To enjoy the present, the moment. Sure the pictures capture the moment but I don’t always need to be in a hurry to share it with the world instantly. I don’t need the world to embrace what I post but for it to matter to people who matter.

And what’s the point of the photo? Well, it just cheers me up looking at my Bub being silly and just having fun. That’s what life should be about. Laugh, be silly and have fun!

I’ll try to come back to blogging more often for it’s in this space that I find myself sharing more candidly about our lives. Some may ask who’s got time to read blogs these days, everything needs to be quick and fast. Yup, even on social media. Well, perhaps that’s true. To keep up with the trends, one needs to be fast and think on one’s feet. But I’m already doing it at work, I don’t really want to be caught in a hamster wheel of constant chase.

 

Leave a Reply

