Upcycling my army green top in Hong Kong

IMG_5640My Zara khaki green camo top that double up as a jacket has been with me since 2013. I’ve always loved the crystals on the side of the pocket that gives a gentle feminine touch to the jacket. It’s also one of the things I would bring on a trip to countries with a cooler climate as I don’t have to bring an additional jacket for I could simply wear something slightly warmer inside and throw this jacket/top over leggings.

But with a young toddler, this jacket wasn’t going to be as functional for the crystals had sharp edges that might scratch the kid if she’s fussing around when I’m carrying her. During my recent trip to Hong Kong without the kid, I bought this jacket along for it didn’t scream MUMSY gear. My cousin remarked that it was pretty and I told her that I was probably going to trash it after the trip for this jacket has been with me for the past 4-5 years and it’s time to ‘retire’ the look. She told me it would be a waste to do it and I should probably look at salvaging it and updating the look to make it more current for the crystals were actually sewn on to a patch that will be easily removed.

On hearing this, I got really excited and wondered how I can breathe new life to one of my fave wardrobe pieces. We decided on perhaps getting some funky iron-on patches and pins to dress up the jacket.

We stumbled on Pottinger Street at Central Hong Kong enroute to lunch and I was pleasantly surprised to find a row of old stall selling appliques and iron-on patches. Just the items I really needed for this DIY upcycling project to work! The best part? There was actually a seamstress available and she could help sew on the patches on to my top so that it will be fully secured rather than having it ironed-on and risk having it drop off and leaving a mark when the adhesive is no longer sticky.

I was over-the-moon! We got down really quickly to selecting of the different patches that would be eye-catching and had the seamstress work her magic on the top.  I think the entire project must have cost me about 150 – 200 HKD (about S$30) which I thought wasn’t too bad.

Victory for thinking of this idea! Hehe..

Pardon the picture quality but here’s a shot of how the jacket looks like with the various patches. It does not matter that the the patches all don’t match, I think what really matters is what you like and the creativity that you can inject into such a simple project and to give your clothing a new lease of life instead of trashing them.

Now that this project is somewhat successful, I’m kinda hooked on upcycling more stuff in my wardrobe that funky patches can do the job. Stay tuned! Hehe…

Leave a Reply

