Prepping for Chinese New Year.. goodies and shopping!

Chinese New Year is just round the corner and it does seem like a mad rush to get everything in order. The house, our clothes, the red packets.. well, you get the drift! Thankfully, the reunion dinner prep is often handled by the Man and the MIL, so I don’t have to worry that much about that. I’m often tasked to do the stocking up of our new year goodies which I also had help with gifts very kindly given by our family and friends.

Here’s a simple list of what we stocked up for the New Year, including a guide to what we will be wearing this Chinese New Year season. I know this is pretty late, but there’s still 3-4 more days to the festival, so there’s still that last burst that I’m sure might either give you a headache or an adrenaline rush!

Shopping for New Year Goodies:img_7030

There’s a mind-boggling selection of New Year goodies to choose from and what we usually have on our snack tray would include Pineapple Tarts, Kueh Bangkit (we love this thin, crispy ones that we buy in bulk from a home-based baker recommended by my friend, S about 6-7 years ago), Lychee Rose cookies from Home Favourites and Bak Kwa. This year, we tried Pineapple Bak Kwa at Kim Peng Hiang and I must say that it’s really pretty good. The bak kwa is slightly thicker than what you will get out there and the meat has juicy pineapple bits sandwiched in between. It’s sweet plus slightly savory all in one bite.

While we love our pineapple tarts, I do not have a brand that we will particularly buy from. Most of the pineapple tarts that we have acquired/ purchased over the years are usually either gifted or purchased from home-bakers. This year, we were gifted with a box of Pineapple Tarts from Bakerzin. I was pleasantly surprised first by the packaging as each tart was shaped in an adorable yet auspicious ingot shape and best part, individually wrapped. I thought this was great as it ensured freshness of the tart plus having it wrapped individually made it easier to snack-on-the-go. I don’t have to worry about taking the tarts out of it’s original bottle and into a small tupperware. Thanks again Bakerzin and Touch PR & Events for thinking of us and sending a box of these yummy treats to fill our bellies ahead of the festive season. 🙂

Shopping for New Year Clothes for Bubba:

Coming to my fave topic – Shopping – which I think I did pretty well in acquiring outfits for both the Bub and myself. 🙂 Hehe..

Before I became a Mum,  I was adamant about putting my child into a cheongsam for  Chinese New Year. “Why go with tradition? So boring! And those cheongsams that you get in bazaars and so uncomfortable?!” This was before discovering home-grown labels that offer stylish cheongsams with a modern twist for little ones.  This year, I think I have bought as well as received enough Cheongsams to fill her wardrobe for a good part of Chinese New Year. Am pretty excited for these little outfits are so cute and not to mention, they really look good for dinner/ occasion dressing when I’m too lazy to think which evening gown/ dress looks good on her. The cheongsam immediately comes to mind plus you know what, the older folks actually like for younger kids to be dressed in traditional outfits too. So win-win for us all.

Here are our choice-picks on where to shop for outfits this Chinese New Year. Psst.. best part is that you don’t even need to leave home to get the outfits!

img_6855Our fave brand for cheongsams this CNY has gotta be Sea Apple. We fell in love with the brand in 2016 and Bubba was dressed in her very first Liberty printed Cheongsam them. The fit was gorgeous and the print was outstanding without being too much in your face. So my first port-of-call was Sea Apple for this year and we loved most of the collection that we popped 3 dresses into our shopping cart (pictured above: the Spring Petal Ruffle Cheongsam). Sizing wise, gotta add that the Bub is 2.5 years old but can still fit majority of their size 2 outfits. I did get a size 4 for the Misted Dew Flutter Sleeve dress which is still a little too big for her for now but I guess, it’s a hoard!

Next, I’ve been a fan of Liberty Art Fabric prints for the longest time and when I discovered local brand – Elizabeth Little Co – which designs and makes outfits using Liberty prints, I was really excited about getting an outfit for Bubba. Originally, I had planned on getting the Chiyo Berry Cheongsam for I thought the tulle skirt would be a cute addition to her outfit but when I laid my eyes on the  Hanami Wonderland Cheongsam with cute prints from Alice in Wonderland peppered on the skirt, I was sold on the design and got that for the Bub instead. I think the outfit might also come in handy for our upcoming trips to Disneyland, Disney on Ice and perhaps, a princess themed event. Now, that’s killing possibly 3 birds with one stone with this outfit!

img_6918Apart from dresses, it’s also important for your child to be comfortable, so I also got a couple of rompers adorned with cute vegetable digital prints from Leia + Lauren shop.  Mama Libby and I first chanced upon the brand at a Mothersworks event but I didn’t examine the item in detail until more recently when we both looked at the collection more carefully and we both purchased the long carrot romper each for our Sophies because they are pretty darn cute.

img_6952Verdict? Super comfy rompers that are great for home wear and outdoor play. Since Bubba’s homewear needed updating, I decided to get the Leeks and Butternut Squash rompers as well. I’m guessing that the Leeks romper would be a hit with the older folks for Leek (韭菜, jiu cai ) represents everlasting relationship as the pronunciation of the letter – jiu (), sounds like long (久),  or 长长久久. I’m saving the leek romper for our reunion dinner later this week for it’s probably going to be hot and I want the Bub to feel comfortable during the hour-long dinner so this outfit will be great for our family reunion dinners. Hehe…

 Twinning outfits for Momma and Bubba:

Before twinning with my child gets too tacky and she can actually verbalise, “Mom, please get your own clothes! Or, dress me separately!”. I decided to milk it for what it’s worth.

Here are 2 online stores that we thought aced it in terms of twinning! Mixon Minis for cheongsams – I got the Amethyst Purple Swing Dress with the lace detail for myself. Love that the it’s actually loose (in case I get a belly from over-eating) and that it comes with a belt (to avoid friends/relatives from asking me “Are you pregnant?” when actually I’m just fat). I got Bubba the matching dress and we tried it on for size the other day and she enjoyed twirling in the chiffon dress.

img_7031And KSisters! We’ve been fans of KSisters for a while now, when we first added the navy Skorts which is our fave twinning outfit for the weekends. The red skort is a perfect one to add for CNY that will surely get the approval from the older generation. If you are fan of all things lace, you should definitely check out the Momma and Bubba lace dress twinning outift. We were tempted to get that but I don’t think I could pull off the look given my height plus the Bub is quite messy most of the time, I think I would be more stressed up ensuring that she doesn’t stain the dress then have fun in the outfit. But that said, KSisters did send us a twinning outfit in the Twirly Dress which is a style more up our alley, so we can’t wait to show that off once we wear them.

Prepping for CNY always does get me quite excited and I recall fondly when I was much younger, I would tag along with my parents to Chinatown to help them with their shopping. I would want to bring Bubba to Chinatown at some point to soak up the festive spirit and of course, indulge in the different types of shopping available at the New Year bazaar but of course, the crowds are a huge deterrent for us now. Perhaps when she’s older and when we summon sufficient courage to brace the crowds, we will go there next time.

Alright, that concludes what we have done for CNY to-date. I can’t wait for the feasting and catching up with family and friends come this weekend! Hope you are as excited as we are about the impending holiday! 🙂 Have a fab week ahead!

 —–

Note: We were gifted a box of Original Pineapple Tarts by Bakerzin on behalf of Touch PR & Events to share on our Instagram account. No additional monetary rewards were given.  All views expressed are purely of my own.

One thought on “Prepping for Chinese New Year.. goodies and shopping!

Leave a Reply

