Reflections on being a Mum

Life before you would be carefree. I didn’t have much of a worry. I was driven. Your Daddy and I would pack our bags at every chance that we could to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. I had time to nurture friendships and exercise. I had time to prim myself up and look decent. I could do pretty much whatever I wanted when I wanted without batting my eyelids.

Life when you came along into our lives and perhaps my life changed that completely. The first couple of months was a struggle, juggling different expectations from relationships that changed and I had no clue what to expect. My mom told me no one is born to be a mother, you just become one along the way. With that advice, I learned that it’s alright to sometimes fall in the journey of motherhood. What’s important is that you pick yourself up and soldier on. There are many parenting books out there with fancy theories that you can abide by, but no child is the same so I learn to adapt and adjust to listen to your cues and play alongside this journey with you.

Last Mother’s Day (perhaps it being my very first Mother’s Day), I had expectations to be wildly swept off my feet by surprises thrown by your father. That fell horribly flat in my face. I should have guessed, he doesn’t believe in PDA especially for those public celebrations. So this Mother’s Day, I’m looking forward to just spending time with you, going back to basics and just appreciating the simple things. I’m thankful for the many moments that we share, me cuddling/ hugging you to sleep with your little hand wrapped tightly in mine. Your whispers of ‘I love you Mummy.‘ before you drift off to sleep is like music to my ears every night.

It’s true what they say ‘The days are long but the years are short.‘ With a blink of the eye, you are almost 2, sometimes I can’t quite believe that. Thank you for the amazing journey that you have walked with me with your tiny hand in mine for the past 2 years, for your squeals and for showering me with your sloppy kisses upon my request.

And to all you Mamas out there… a Happy Mother’s Day to you! Spend an awesome and fantabulous weekend with your loved ones, big and small. 🙂

Leave a Reply

