Shopping with Upsy Daisy + Giveaway!

[Sponsored Review + Giveaway]

Hello everyone. My name is J and I’m a shopaholic!

Wait! You already know that! That was pre-Bubba days where I would go nuts over clothes, shoes, bags and beauty products. Post-Bubba days, shopping for myself have somewhat been reduced. That doesn’t mean that I am saving more money. I’m just channeling my limited financial resources to my mini-me who I find playing dress-up with absolutely a joy.

I do majority of my shopping for Bubba online. Well because, I really don’t have the time to hit the shops much these days and shop at leisure. It’s a lot easier to do it online when it’s late at night, in the comfort of my own home. Plus, there’s this whole anticipation and excitement of receiving packages. Well, if it doesn’t fit now, I usually just keep it aside and wait for Bubba to slowly grow into it.

While I like to share the pluses on online shopping, I’ve also had the experience of items which  never turned up and retailers not honoring their word. So I do take it with a pinch of salt and only shop at e-retailers that are reputable or highly recommended by friends.

UpsyDaisy1Today, I’m excited to share with you all a new online shopping site – Upsy Daisy – that recently opened its doors on the www here in Singapore. When Aud approached me and asked if I would consider working with them, I was beyond thrilled. Shopping? Check! I would practically ace this! Shopping for Bubba? Yes! And shopping to support small businesses? Definitely a YES of course! We love supporting Mama-preneurs for they know just what Mamas need.

Borne out of a love for shopping only the quality stuff for young ones, the ladies behind Upsy Daisy curate the coolest stuff for apparel, toys, nursery décor and gift ideas. You will also be pleased to know that by shopping with them, you are assured that the products that you purchase from them will go towards one or more of the following:

  • Made of natural fibres and/or non toxic materials as far as possible
  • Made in an ethical work environment
  • Support the labour of love of artisan mums and/or artisan families

Diving straight into the shopping now! It was pretty easy to navigate and shop on Upsy Daisy’s site as well. Items are neatly categorised under Dress Up, Play + Learn, Nursery, Gift Ideas and Brands, so I know just what to zoom into for what I needed.

UpsyDaisy2I’m familiar with some of the brands such as Sapling, Hello Apparel and This Kid Clothing Co that are available on Upsy Daisy’s site having owned pieces from these brands previously. I actually do like the fact that they offer different brands under the same roof, this means that I can just buy what I like instead of being obligated to buy more so as to meet the minimum spend for the free shipping. I also don’t have to worry about my overseas packages being lost because all these stock available on Upsy Daisy’s site are already in Singapore. Phew for that!

I did have trouble trying to pick out the items for this review for there were so many things that I was interested to pop into the cart such as this cute hand-made Oskar & Ellen: Doctor’s Bag which I think the Bubba will have fun playing. Well, she does like her paed and maybe has visited him once too often (oops)! If we didn’t already own a musical table and a piano, I would have popped this Stephen Joseph: Musical Band Dino Table into our cart. It’s so cute and Bubba would have a blast banging and clanging on those musical keys.

There are also many cute decor items on my shopping list, like this Le Sac En Papier: Storage Sacks that I’ve been lemming for the longest time to store Bubba’s toys or perhaps my junk far from the Man’s view plus this Heart on a String: Love you to the moon and back (pink and gold) which would be so lovely if Bubba has a room of her own. Well, I we still can’t bear to kick her out of our room yet. It’s nice to wake up to a smiling Bub 99% of the time.

l1030335I spent a good 15-30 minutes surfing the web putting and removing items from my cart before narrowing down to these items which I sent off to Aud. Just a few days later, I came home one evening to a pretty box filled with the goodies that I had picked out from Upsy Daisy and couldn’t wait to peel open the packaging.

Here are the items that I picked out for Bubba:l1030337

img_3456

My Tiny Wardrobe: Flutter Butterfly Top in Ocean Blue
(S$39.90)

Made from 100% organic cotton, I really like this crisp white top with flutter sleeves that comes with ocean blue nautical striped trimming. The top is lightweight and perfect for our humid weather. I paired the top with a simple denim bloomer and tucked her hair in this cute Bear hat that I bought when she was smaller (it still fits!). L1030425Don’t you think Bubba actually looks like a little sailor girl in this ensemble?

img_3534Jolly Jelly Bean: Sweet Treats Short Sleeve Dress
(S$39.90)

The Jolly Jelly Bean’s range really appealed to me as the designs were all so colourful, bright and fun. It’s new range is also 100% GOTS Certified Organic Babywear. Designs are printed using vegetable dyes on organic cotton that’s safe for babies skin.

img_8872-1Pre-Bubba days, I would flinch when I saw the price-tag for an organic cotton item that cost more than what one would normally pay for major brands. But there really is a difference. The fabric used is so much softer and the little ones can really tell the difference as they are able to  move more comfortably.

Sizes for this Jolly Jelly Bean item start from 0 to 2. As Bubba is about 19.5 months, I decided to just get the dress in size 2 for that would mean that it’s meant for kids from 2 years of age onwards. When I put on the dress on Bubba, it did run a little big on her. Only 1 way to see this, she can definitely wear this for a longer time.

L1030359That said, I really love the dress on her. The design is so colourful and fun. Bubba had a good time pointing at the ice-cream and saying it out loud all the same. The dress is very well-made with a snap-bottom fastening that acts like a romper on the inside. That’s a thoughtful feature which I really like because I don’t have to let Bubba wear an additional bottom under the dress.

In fact, I liked this dress by Jolly Jelly Bean so much that I decided to get the Bananas one for her in size 1 so that she can wear it now. I think the dress is perfect for our weather and great for her to put on for mornings when she has playground time in school. Hehe..

img_3554Two Little Ducklings: Letters to my child
(S$39.90)

Designed by hot Aussie graphic label – Two Little Ducklings – and currently one of the best-selling items on Upsy Daisy (even backorders fly off the shelves), Aud recommended that I should get this as a keepsake to pass on to Bubba given that I enjoy writing letters to her on my blog. I’m glad I did.

Letters to my child is a stationery pack, comprising 13 sets of notepaper, where you are able to write a letter to your child from birth to age 12. Each year has four sheets of notepaper, three pages to write the letter, the sets for baby and your one year old has a sheet where you can write wishes you have for your child and the sets from age 2 to 12 has interview questions you can ask them each year. Each set comes with 13 envelopes so you can store the letters each year and pop it away for when they are older.

img_3556I really love the idea behind this. Such a wonderful keepsake for both the parents and Bubba. I had grand plans to write to Bubba a birthday card and keep it for her till she’s much older to read all my special thoughts and wishes for her. The Man did that when she turned one and when she’s older, we would probably bundle these up and give them to her. With this gift set, everything is neatly packaged and so beautifully designed. I don’t have to worry if all my items match for they will and I can pack everything into one box and present it to her when she’s much older. I only wished I had known about this much earlier but I guess it’s not too late. Bubba is going to turn 2 and I can start right away.

img_3555This is definitely a lovely gift for a new Mom-to-be or for new parents. Or if you enjoy writing and wish to share those precious thoughts (not meant to be shared with anyone else) with your little Bub, this is one item you have to get! And if you think about it, the entire set is really cost-effective. Divided over 13 sets, its only about $3 for each letter a year. Steal!

That’s not all, surfing the gift section side of Upsy Daisy, I really like that they offer gift combinations and everything that is purchased can have a greeting card added to the purchase. I really love those fun and whimsical gift cards that’s ideal for birthdays and any special occasions designed by Two Little Ducklings. This makes shopping a breeze at Upsy Daisy with a one-stop experience for you would have settled both the present and the card! Yay for that for I’ve been stuck in situations where I had to run to a special gift shop just to get a card and we know how rare physical gifts shops are now becoming given the high rental in Singapore.
Thanks Aud for sending all these lovely items to us! I certainly had a great time reviewing not only the site but testing the goods/products out on my little muse. 🙂

img_3559Now here’s what you  have been waiting for! A special offer for all my readers plus a give-away (Thank you team Upsy Daisy for this).

Special offer for readers of Lady J’s Musings:

Quote ‘LADYJ5’ to enjoy 5% store-wide discount
on Upsy Daisy

Offer till 15 March 2016.

img_3037

Want to win S$30 shopping credit from Upsy Daisy to start you off your shopping journey? Simply enter this RaffleCopter link below, and fulfill all the conditions (more chances awarded if you fulfill more conditions). Good luck! Contest is now closed.

S$30 shopping credit from Upsy Daisy
UpsyDaisy

 

——–

Disclaimer : lady J’s musings received 3 products from Upsy Daisy for the purpose of this review.  No additional monetary rewards were given.  All views expressed are purely of my own and written according to my experience in using the products/services. Any queries should be verified with the provider or party in question.

Leave a Reply

