Beetroot soup for Mama and Bubba

Mama Libby recently shared this simple beetroot soup recipe in my Mommies chat and said that it was a winner for her bub. Naturally, didn’t take very long for me to get all excited and inspired to make this for Bubba.

A quick search online for the health benefits of beetroot.

Beetroot is a root vegetable which is known very well for its numerous health benefits. Some of these health benefits for babies include cure for anemia, improved digestion, hepatoprotective or liver protection, a cleansing agent for the body and increase in brain activity and development.

I’ve been told that drinking this soup regularly would also help give your little kiddies a healthy glow on their cheeks. While I don’t know if its true, but I look at my friend’s child and I really think her cheeks are rosy. So give it a try and let me know.

IMG_8891Now on the soup, this is another ‘throw all veggies in a pot‘ type of recipe. I love doing such soups because I don’t have to worry about it being overcooked.

According to my mom who shared that beetroot actually has detoxifying properties so it’s good for adults to drink it more often. Because of that, I didn’t make a huge pot of soup stock for Bubba. Instead, I did a pot that was fed her for her lunch and dinner plus 2 additional soup bowls for my own lunch.

Here’s the recipe if you are interested to try this out either for yourself or for your child. FYI, Bubba is about 14.5 months now and according to the research I’ve done online, it’s okay to introduce beets to a baby who’s about 8 to 10 months. As usual, do monitor your child for any food allergy.

IMG_8888Nourishing Beetroot Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 beetroot – chopped into 4 portions
  • 1 carrot – cut into chunks
  • 1 corn – cut into chunks
  • 1/2 white onion – cut into chunks
  • 3 to 4 pieces of ribs – parboiled
  • 3 bowls of cooled boiled water

Method:

  1. Blanch pork ribs in boiling water for 5 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. Add ingredients and rest of the ingredients to 3 bowls of cooled boiled water in your slow cooker on high. Once soup is boiling, you can turn it down to a low setting.

IMG_8892Lunch for me and the Bubba. Sweet and nourishing for the soul. I fed Bubba some mushroom fried rice along with the soup. Surprisingly, she finished the soup along with the carrots, beets and bits of the pork ribs.

Here’s another recipe that I found online on Food for Tots on beetroot soup if you are keen. It sounds just as appetising. Try it and let me know what you think about it! 🙂

One thought on “Beetroot soup for Mama and Bubba

Leave a Reply

