Easy Banana Pancakes for kids

I cannot wait for Bubba to be done with her food strike! Teething woes – they are real for sure! In fact, I can’t even remember when she actually polished up her meals without fuss. Fingers and toes crossed for I cannot deal with raising a picky eater. Although many have shared and reassured of me that it’s just a phase.

Well, in a bid to entice her to open her mouth. Since I’m only home during the weekends, I really did my best to experiment with more textures and flavours when it comes to making her meals.

I’ve always been a fan of Lianne’s recipes from Food Made With Love even before she became a mama. Now mama to one-year Lochlan, it’s so nice to see her busy in the kitchen and doing what she does best – cooking! All I have to say is that this little guy sure is one lucky dude to enjoy these delicious and hearty meals made by his wonderful mom.

She recently shared the receipe for these easy banana pancakes on one of the Facebook groups that I follow and boy was it easy! I made these without much fuss for Bubba and it’s definitely a recipe for keeps.

IMG_7189Easy Banana Pancakes (recipe from Food Made With Love)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large banana (or 2 small ones), mashed
  • 1 egg (we used the small organic farm egg)
  • 4 tablespoons of self-raising flour

Method:

  1. Mix till smooth batter is obtained.
  2. Heat pan with some unsalted butter.
  3. Pour batter into pan, fry up and serve.

IMG_7188Seriously, it’s that simple! And you know what? Having the self-raising flour made all the difference! The past few pancake recipes that I experimented with were mostly organic and used little baking powder.

IMG_7192 But I didn’t want to tweak the recipe much and knowing what a foodie Lianne is, I know her recipes work. So I stuck with it. I was amazed at how light and fluffy the pancakes turned out. They even won the taste-test of my MIL who usually is quite critical when it comes to food.

IMG_7201The pancakes also had bits of banana in it which made it really yummy. Best part? Since the bananas were naturally sweet, I didn’t need to add maple syrup to the pancakes.

IMG_7193Putting the pancakes to the test-taste. Did it meet its mark on being one of the best pancakes that this Momma has ever made? Well, I dare-say yes! Adult and kid-friendly pancakes? Definitely #ftw!!

IMG_7194Bubba did look quite excited when I plated the mini pancakes and put them in front of her. She took a bite or two of it before deciding it’s more fun to feed Sparky with it instead. Oh well, like I said, teething sucks big time!! I just want her appetite to be back and I hope she will eventually love these pancakes.

Try this recipe out and let me know how it works for you.

Thanks again Mama Lianne for sharing it! 🙂

One thought on “Easy Banana Pancakes for kids

Leave a Reply

