Homemade vegetable stock for babies/ toddlers

Bubba is now on 3 meals a day with 3 milk-feeds a day as well. Her portions for meal times have sort of increased and I really do try to make a conscious effort to feed her well now that food makes up a larger part of her nutrition.

While I need not worry about her breakfast and lunch since she takes them in school, I try to see what I can do for her dinner. It’s usually a mad rush for us, since we get off from work, pick her up from school and by the time we get back home, it’s time for her dinner. The helper and the MIL helps to prep her dinner but it’s usually just soft Japanese rice with a vegetable and a meat or fish. It has been that way for the past couple of months and I suspect Bubba has been a little bored of her daily meals. I tried alternating with those frozen pots that I got from Petit Bowl previously, but she fell quite sick recently, so making her meals fresh was a better option.

During that time when Bubba was ill, thank goodness for my Mom’s vegetable stock that she made for her grand-kiddos. The stock was a literally a life-saver for we used it to make Bubba’s porridge as well as noodle soup for the poor gal didn’t really have any appetite.

After that episode, we decided to go back to plain rice and steamed veggie/ meat but I thought it was kinda boring for her since the little one really loved drinking soup. Making it from just plain boiling water somehow didn’t cut it.

So I decided to make the stock on my own. Figured I could freeze the stock for a couple of days and in that way, I don’t have to worry whether Bubba would be getting the right nutrients for her food since the veggie stock had all these nutrients and was naturally tasty. Called my Mom to share the recipe and at first, I was worried that it may be just too much work to make the stock from scratch. But Mom reassured me and after gathering all the veggies and putting them into a pot, I was surprised how easy it was.

IMG_3368Here’s my to-go simple Veggie Soup Stock recipe that’s naturally sweet and jam-packed with vitamins from all the vegetables that we placed! I used a slow-cooker to make this stock overnight but according to my Mom, 4-5 hours in the slow-cooker would suffice.

For vegetables, I used:

  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 Tomato
  • Brocoli
  • 1 white Onion
  • 1/2 Green Apple
  • 1/2 Red Apple
  • 1/4 Yellow Capsicum
  • 1 small Sweet Potato

I placed all these vegetables into my slow-cooker, cranked it up to High first. Once it was boiling, we switched it to Auto and left it basically turned on for the rest of the night while we slept. In the morning, the stock was ready. Strained the veggies and separated them from the stock and I got my helper to portion the stock into various containers so that it’s easy to take them out and prep Bubba’s meals.

Mom also shared that this basic vegetable soup stock was so versatileĀ that I could basically play around and experiment with flavours. I could throw in corn or pumpkin or even a Chinese Pear if desired.

IMG_3411So pleased with the pot of soup stock that I now can rely on to make Bubba’s meals. We used the stock to make her rice and some of the stock to throw in the meat and other vegetables to make her soup. This recipe is definitely for keeps for it’s simple to make and so nutritious for our little ones. No need to rely on salt to make the soup flavourful, just simple use of fruits and vegetables was all it took to make the soup naturally sweet and tasty. Thanks Mom for sharing this which I’m now happy to share on with other Moms who may find it struggle to whip up wholesome meals for their little ones.

Next up on our list, Beef Stock! Fingers crossed I do justice to my Mom’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

