Mama J cooks: Pasta sauce

Been wanting to use up the box of Bellamy’s Organics Pasta Stars that I bought for Bubba weeks back and was on the hunt for recipes that could utilise the pasta up. I guess nothing does it like good old tomato-based pasta sauce. So I decided to give it go and make pasta sauce from scratch after checking out this post by Mama Libby.

Printed the recipe and planned to adapt it in the morning when I woke up but when I headed down, my helper beat me to making this for Bubba. This little girl is so loved! 🙂

Here’s the recipe if you are interested in a tomato-based recipe for your bub. IMG_7865Simple Veggie Pasta Sauce (Recipe adapted from Little Bow Girl’s 5-pasta sauce recipe)
[Makes 7 portions for bub, enough to freeze]

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Purple Onion, chopped
  • 1 Carrot, washed and sliced
  • 7 cm x 5 cm Chunk of Butternut Squash, washed, peeled and sliced into cubes
  • 1 Large Organic Vine-ripened tomato, washed and sliced
  • 1/2 Apple, washed and sliced
  • 4 cups of boiled water

Method:

  • Using 1/2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil, grease pan and bring to medium heat.
  • When pan is hot, add onions and fry till fragrant.
  • After onions become translucent, add carrots and butternut squash, and fry evenly until fragrant (about five minutes)
  • Pour mixture of onions, carrots and squash into your slow cooker. Add 4 cups of water.
  • Finally, add your chunks of apple and tomato.

IMG_7841

  • Leave to simmer and stew in slow cooker on “High” for 1 hr before switching it to “Low” for 3-4 hours.
  • At the end of it, pour entire mixture into blender and pulse to the consistency you like.

IMG_7862Learnings:
I don’t know if we used too little ingredients but after the 4 hours of slow cooking, the stew didn’t seem to reduce. It was too soupy and I knew that if I were to blend it, the sauce would end up being too diluted. So I improvised. What I did was to scoop all the ingredients into the blender and then with just 1 scoop of the stock, I pulsed the ingredients. This was the result and I was happy with it. As for the remaining stock? I kept it aside as vegetable stock for Bubba’s porridge. Well, she seemed to love it with a slice of cod-fish added to her rice.

IMG_7863As for the pasta sauce? I think it taste really good. The sweetness from all the ingredients made for a really yummy sauce to be accompanied with her pasta stars. I added some organic minced chicken to the sauce and then fed her with the pasta stars. Bubba finished half of this and readily opened her mouth as I spoon-fed her, so I’m happy this recipe works for now. We have another 6 more servings of this to go. So fingers crossed!

One thought on “Mama J cooks: Pasta sauce

Leave a Reply

