On to porridge

At about 8.5 months going on to 9 months, we decided to finally introduce Bubba to porridge. Some say that I started Bubba a little slow on porridge and some say that she still can afford to be on cereals till she hits 1. Different schools of thought I guess. My sis did share that there isn’t particularly a hurry to start Bubba on porridge yet as her digestive system is still quite tender so I should just let her have cereals as it’s gentler on her tummy and a lot easy to digest.

But we decided to just let her try out porridge. I’ve been putting this off for a while for it does take quite a lot of work to prep the porridge. Thanks to this post by Mama Libby and tips on how to make the veggie stock, I decided to get off my butt and cook Bubba her very first meal.

IMG_6392The recipe called for Millet but I searched high and low and it was nearly impossible to get the Hipp Organic Millet Porridge after trawling several supermarkets (yup, dragged Bubba with us for our supermarket run). So I gave up and decided to just use Japanese rice to make Bubba’s porridge.

IMG_6407Here’s my take on the Veggie Stock:

  • Half a corn
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 purple carrot
  • 4-5 brocoli florets
  • 6-8 wolfberries
  • 3 ladleful of water

To make the stock, simply throw all the ingredients mentioned above into your slow cooker and bring it to a boil. It took about 2-3 hours for us to make the stock. Thereafter, I simply chucked the vegetables, kept the stock and then added a handful of the Japanese rice into my slow cooker. Took me another 2 hours odd to finally make the porridge.

IMG_6518The final product! It looks a little brownish here because of the purple carrot which added the purplish brown hue to the stock.

I tried a little of this and truth be told, beyond how scary it may look, it actually does taste really good. The stock was sweet from the goodness of the corn and the carrots. I felt a little pleased to have made this for Bubba and hope that it would taste good enough for her.

IMG_6525The porridge is a little starchy and chunky. Since Bubba’s solids journey is still relatively new, I used a sieve and mashed the chunky porridge to make the texture a little softer and smoother for her. Verdict? Well, she did enjoy the porridge and even reached out to me while I fed her the first few spoons of this veggie porridge. She managed to finish 1 tablespoon of this before promptly screaming to be let out of her high-chair. I guess that should be encouraging.. we will have to slowly increase her intake when she gets used to having porridge for dinner.

Fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

