Muffins for Bubba

Inspired by Mama Libby and her Baby-Led Weaning ways, I decided to attempt one of her recipes over the weekend. I was itching to head back to the kitchen and tinkle around with some new recipes. This made the perfect excuse to get busy in the kitchen.

Moving on from one type of food, I was emboldened and was raring to go try something new. Next on my list? Purple carrots for I read that they are loaded with antioxidants. We got us a pack for our cold-pressed juice and I kept one aside for this recipe.

IMG_5018Purple Carrots and Apple Muffins (Recipe adapted from Little Bow Girl)

Makes 6 – 10 small muffins (suitable for babies and adults)

Ingredients:
– 90 ml vegetable oil
– 1 organic egg
– 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
– 1/2 cup Greek yoghurt
– 1 purple carrot, grated
– 1/2 Fuji apple, grated
– 1 tbsp pure organic maple syrup
– 1 cups organic whole meal flour
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon, ground

IMG_5002Method:
a) Preheat oven to 180°C.
b) Line a 12 hole muffin tin with muffin papers.
c) Place the oil, eggs, vanilla paste, yoghurt, carrot and apple in a bowl and whisk to combine.
d) Sift over the flour and cinnamon and mix until just combined.
e) Using a spoon, put mixture into muffin papers.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until cooked.
f) Serve warm.

IMG_5003 IMG_5009 IMG_5019Here’s how the muffin looked like. Majority of the ingredients used are organic in nature, so the muffin is not the fluffy type that you would be used to. In fact, it’s like a dense cake. The Man took a bite and gave me a face. I tried it, it wasn’t sweet at all and it all tasted rather healthy. No one else in the family looked at it after I had it for they knew it probably didn’t taste very good. Let me just qualify that since this bake is for Bubba, naturally everything has to be kept ideally less sweet for I want to introduce her to new flavours slowly and not flood her system with artificial sugars.

IMG_5055What did Bubba think of it? Well, she played with it and stuffed some into her mouth. I had to break the muffin up into tiny pieces for her to attempt to swallow some in. Other than that, it was more of playing with food most of the time.

IMG_5028Lessons learned from making this batch of wholesome goodies? A couple! I had extra virgin olive oil at home but because they were the commercial ones and I wasn’t too comfortable using them. I swapped the oil with Coconut Oil instead thinking that it should be alright. Well, it wasn’t. The muffins turned out a tad bit too oily and I had to use a kitchen towel to soak up the oil before giving it to Bubba for I was afraid it would be too much for her system. Other than that, the adult version tasted just ok.

Another lesson learned from this incident? I’m not sure if it affected the moist factor in the muffins but I thought I would just list them here so if you have ever attempted a similar recipe or have attempted this same recipe and it worked for it, please share your tips with me. We have a cold-pressed juicer at home so to save time, I simply juiced the apple and purple carrot and used the remains for the muffins. Obviously, all the liquid in the vegetable and fruit is gone, but I thought that’s would be fine because there would be nutrients tucked in the pulp.

Would I make this again? Probably. But this time round, I would use the right type of olive oil and perhaps be a little more hardworking in grating the carrot and apple proper.

Watch this space for more interesting BLW recipes that I hope to try out on Bubba. 🙂

One thought on “Muffins for Bubba

Leave a Reply

