Introducing fruits

It’s been almost a month since we started Bubba on solids. How have we done? Any progress on Baby Led Weaning? Does she like what she’s eating? Well, I’d let the pictures do majority of the talking then.

IMG_3263Just look at my cheeky Bubba – giving me the face! 

For about 3 weeks, Bubba has been having the Gerber Organic Brown Rice Cereal which was gifted by a friend. Other brands of cereal that I wanted to explore buying for Bubba include the Nurture Inc. (Happy Baby) Brown Rice Baby Cereal and Healthy Times Organic Brown Rice Cereal for Baby. You could get these brands off our local supermarket. I’ve also stashed in my food drawer 3 other brands of cereal but have been advised by my sister to take it easy, finish off one box before starting on a new one. So that’s what I’ve been trying to do.

Trying out new flavours
Well, doesn’t look like Bubba is an adventurous eater.. just like her Dad. I’ve given her Avocado and Sweet Potato so far and her response to those foods have far been overwhelming. She rather play with the food then to eat it and each bite is always taken with caution.

IMG_3261Been wanting to introduce fruits to Bubba, so last week, we tried Papaya and boy, was it hilarious!

IMG_3262

You see Sparky’s fave fruit is Papaya so when we tried to feed Bubba with the Papaya puree, Sparky was just looming around hoping to steal some of her food. Did she like it? Well, not really. She basically shut her mouth and spat out the tiny spoonfuls of papaya puree that I had tried to feed her with. Guess I will have to try again!

IMG_3520Fruit juices in a Sippy Cup
Upon recommendation of the mamas from this Eastie Mummies Group that I had joined and Mama Libby, I got the Pigeon Mag Mag Sippy Cup which is supposed to help train Bubba to drink using the straw, just like an adult.

IMG_3522Well, she still hasn’t learned how to suck properly using the straw but she does enjoy chewing at the straw. We recently purchased a cold-pressed juicer so the Man blended this Apple, Blueberries and Kale juice for her to try. We didn’t get very far with the training of the sippy cup but I did feed her 2-3 spoonfuls of the juice of which she also gave me a face. Oh well, I will just have to try again.

Man, this solids business is way more challenging than I thought.

IMG_3424Luckily for us, I found out that she does have a fave food which is bread! She seemed to enjoy the texture but more importantly actually eating it in small mouthfuls. So yay to that!

Let’s see what other surprises or funny faces she will give us when I introduce yogurt to her next.

 

Leave a Reply

