Bubba’s introduction to avocado

IMG_2267After introducing Bubba to sweet potatoes and brown rice cereal,  I decided to expand her food repertoire and let her try out avocado one day.

Avocado makes a great first food for baby due to its texture and creaminess; an extra bonus is that avocado is full or “good” fats and has a high nutrient content!

Avocados are often called one of nature’s perfect foods because they are said to contain everything a person needs to survive. A wonderful “good fat” food for baby’s brain and physical development, try an avocado as baby’s first food instead of refined cereals.

(Source: Momtastic Wholesome Baby Food)

IMG_2270Look at that face! All eager to tuck into her avocado fingers! I’m still trying out the Baby Led Weaning method where possible and Bubba seems interested in feeding herself. So I cut the avocado up into strips so that it’s easy for her to pick them up and stuff them into her mouth.

IMG_2273Verdict? Well, Bubba’s facial expression says it all. She had a shocked look when she stuffed a chunk of avocado into her mouth. As she explored chomping it, it looked as if she didn’t really enjoy the buttery fruit.

IMG_2279So I did this. Mash the avocado up and then add some of my breastmilk into the mix to form a purée. It took her a while to get used to the taste and I think I will just have to keep trying the next time round.

IMG_2280The slight problem with this is that riped avocados can get kinda mushy so be prepared to clean up the mess.  See what I mean. Also, avocados are kinda pricey in Singers and they don’t keep long. There was a promotion of avocados going on in Cold Storage, so I grabbed 5 of them at one go, thinking I could stuff Bubba with avocado every other day. Unfortunately, she fell sick the next day so the doc advised us to stop solids for a bit. The avocados ended up becoming a guacamole treat for the adults instead.

6 thoughts on “Bubba’s introduction to avocado

  1. csary says:

    I tried avocado for baby c as a weekly treat. So I will only get 1 at the time. Cos my mum who is the main caretaker on weekdays they are not so keen on ‘angmo’ baby food. He seem to take it better than hairy marrow. Yes hairy marrow. He will take half an avocado a day and he seem to like it. I guess every baby is different in tastebud.

Leave a Reply

