Milk boosters? Lactation Cookies?

It’s been 6 months since I’ve embarked on the breast-feeding journey. I didn’t imagine going this far and the Man had wanted me to stop when I went back to work. But I persisted, I wanted to try to breastfeed Bubba exclusively for at least 6 months and then 1 year if it’s possible.

It has been rather challenging of late for I find my supply taking a sharp dip. I did what I possibly could – downed Green Papaya and Fish Soup, Nursing teas, Fenugreek, etc – but to quote what Miss Ene shared ‘It’s really stressful being the sole food source provider.’ I could totally relate to it.

So out of desperation, I now turn to eating Lactation Cookies.  It seemed to work for some this miracle cookie but how does it work in reality?

IMG_1541 It all boils down to the ingredients! Lactation Cookies are jammed packed with these ingredients that’s supposed to help boost milk supply:

  • Oats – they are not only filling, gives us energy but also packed with iron that is a key ingredient in boosting milk supply.
  • Flaxseed meal – Flaxseed is filled with Omega Fatty Acids that’s beneficial both for mother and baby. That’s not all, Omega is critical for the brain development as well as growth in little ones.
  • Brewer’s Yeast – This is high in B-Vitamins, which are important for energy.

It’s a combination of all these ingredients that help boost the milk supply. Out of desperation one day, I decided to try this recipe out.

IMG_1543

Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies
[Recipe found online but I can’t remember where I got it from – blaming it on Mumnesia]

Prep time: approx. 15 minutes

Makes approx: 14-16 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Plain Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 cup Virgin Coconut Oil
  • ½ cup brown sugar or sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Flaxseed Meal
  • 1 egg
  • 2-3 tablespoons of water (depends if you prefer moister cookies)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1-2 tablespoons of Brewers yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 & 1/2 cups oats (get the thicker cut oats if you can)
  • 1/2 cup of your fave biscuit ingredients : Chocolate Chips [Or Nuts, Cranberries, etc]

Method:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, mix oil and sugar then add the egg and vanilla. Mix well.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the flaxseed and water, let sit for a few minutes before adding to mix.
  3. Add the dry ingredients (apart from the oats and your additional ingredients) and mix well again.
  4. Finally, stir in the oats and your additional ingredient. Chocolate chips in my case.
  5. Make the biscuits (I use an ice-cream scoop as a rough size guide) and place them onto a lightly greased or lined baking tray. Flatten them a little with your fingers or a spatula – if you like a soft centre, don’t squish them down too much.
  6. Bake for around 10-12 minutes depending on how well cooked/crunchy you like your biscuits.

Verdict? I took about 2 of these cookies occasionally since they were baked but haven’t seen a remarkable increase in my milk supply. I wonder is it because I haven’t diligently been pumping or what. Will continue to monitor for supply and perhaps take more of these cookies. Regardless of whether it boost supply or not, these cookies do make for a healthy treat as they really do taste pretty yummy.

If you are looking to purchase some of these ingredients that are not readily found in Singapore, you can get them on iHerb.com.

Shop iHerb.com. You can save $10 off your first order of $40 or more; or $5 off orders less than $40! just by using my Rewards Code CJV852

 

2 thoughts on “Milk boosters? Lactation Cookies?

  1. lauren says:

    I struggle with milk production too! I made a few batches of these and while delicious, a lactation consultant told me that you have to eat 20 cookies to see a result. She recommended drinking a ton of water, trying to reduce stress, and an herbal supplement called more milk plus – special blend. Good luck, fellow mommy!

    • Lady J says:

      Hey Lauren! Hope you are keeping well! Really? 20 of these to see any result? Darn.. some of the people I’ve seen on other Mummys’ Group have like 2 of these and they see an increased supply. Thanks for the tips also.. will check them out!

Leave a Reply

