Pumpin’ with Pigeon

[Sponsored review]

IMG_0178Remember the PIGEON event that I attended in November? I’ve known of other brands of breast pumps but when it came to purchasing a set of my own, I went with the popular brand because nearly everyone close to me recommended it. Well, popular brand of choice failed on me not once but twice. The first time, the Man had to run out to buy me a brand new set of breast pumping equipment. The second time it failed on me, I was left helpless and had to learn the art of hand expression to get the milk out. The entire process was long-drawn and with a time-crunch I have at work, it was simply too nerve-wrecking. That’s not all, there were times where I have to work on weekends and when that happens, it was just too troublesome to think about expressing my breast milk as there was either no nursing room in sight or there’s simply too much to bring along on top of work stuff.

So when I shared my woes at the PIGEON event, the folks there suggested I look at the new Manual Breast Pump which seemed to suit my work/ lifestyle needs.

IMG_0181I checked out the Manual Breast Pump and liked how compact the device was. Better yet, I didn’t have to worry about the pump not working if it ever ran out of battery. The Manual Breast Pump is easy to assemble and to bring around when I need to be running around for work at weekend events.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI was thrilled when the good folks at PIGEON sent me the Manual Breast Pump for me to test and review. 🙂 Timing was just right as well for I had a full-day weekend event that saw me moving to 2 different locations. Already my supply had dipped and I was worried that if I didn’t pump at a regular interval, my supply would dip further and let’s not forget the engorgement issue.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI opened up the box and above are the contents that when assembled make up the Manual Breast Pump. In each breast pump set that you purchase from PIGEON, they have included 2 Comfort ProperFit Flange – regular (23 mm in diameter) and large (27 mm in diameter). Again, I think it’s really thoughtful of them to do so because there is no one-size-fits-all magic fit when it comes to the flange sizes and I’ve once sent my cousin to help me purchase a smaller sized flange simply because the complimentary one that was given in the breast pump set was too big for me. So having 2 sizes in one box is really ideal.

Now to put the pump to test!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Assembly of the Manual Pump wasn’t too difficult if you follow the step-by-step instructions included in the box. I got my helper to sterilise the parts the night before and all these items were then placed in a zip-lock bag. When it was time for me to put this device to test, I zipped away for a couple of minutes during my work event and quickly assembled the Manual Pump.

I studied the guide the night before so I started first with the Stimulation mode to create the gentle suction stimulation, once the flow was established, I switched to the Expression mode with the push of a button. As it was my first time using a Manual pump, it did take a while for me to get used to the pumping motion by hand. But one thing for sure, using this device definitely beats hand expression.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAfter the breast milk is collected into the bottle, I simply popped the sealing disk over the cap, screwed it tightly and placed the bottle into the Coleman sports bottle filled with ice. This mode of transportation of expressed breast milk is a tip given by my sister. She shared that it’s easier to transport the ‘goods’ this way then to use ice-packs as the packs can only last about 4 hours max. Plus, it’s way easier to get ice outside and add into the Coleman sports bottle then finding a fridge. Remember I was going to be out the whole day with no access to a fridge. So this arrangement worked out pretty well for me that day. Phew!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 Now, to sum up what I really liked about PIGEON Manual Breast Pump:

  • It’s compact, handy and lightweight (182g)! Perfect for me when I need to work on the weekends with no access to a proper nursing room. Plus, it’s quiet, so I don’t have to worry about inviting stares from people.
  • I don’t have to worry about charging the device! The only power that I need is manual ‘hand power’! The ergonomic easy-express handle enables comfortable and easy pumping which reduces hand fatigue. This point is something you will definitely appreciate!
  • Easy to use! With just a few parts, it’s quick and simple to assemble this device.

When it comes to taking care of the Manual breast pump, the washing/sterilising of the parts are not too difficult either. I simply washed the parts with the gentle dishwashing liquid meant for cleaning baby’s equipment and sterilised them. However, do note that the silicone valve is rather delicate, so wash with care or it will tear easily. That happened to me, my helper accidentally tore the silicon valve while washing it. Thank goodness there’s a spare silicone valve included in the box that I can use. But if you ever need to purchase spares as back-up, you will have to go to the PIGEON Singapore Office located at 84 Genting Lane, Singapore 349584.

IMG_0181

The PIGEON Manual Breast Pump is retailing at S$79.90 at all major departmental and baby speciality stores.

Thanks PIGEON Singapore for sending this set along my way! It’s certainly a handy option (pardon the pun) for moms like me who enjoy the simplicity and fuss-free pumps. Plus, let’s not forget, this device has been a life-saver on occasions where I had to work over the weekends.

——–

Disclaimer : lady J’s musings received the Manual Breast Pump worth S$79.90 from PIGEON Singapore to test and review.  No monetary rewards were given.  All views expressed are purely of my own and written according to my experience in using this product. Any queries on the product  should be verified with the manufacturer, provider or party in question.
4 thoughts on “Pumpin’ with Pigeon

  1. Mummy Ed says:

    I reviewed their electric pump about 2 years ago and was blown away! Over the years I’ve used the Ameda, the Freestyle, the Isis, the Swing, and I think the Pigeon is great value for money. It doesn’t look as snazzy as some of the other brands but maybe if they did, they’d cost a lot more anyhow 😉

Leave a Reply

