Media invite: Pigeon’s new range of breast pumps

I’ve always been an avid fan of PIGEON products. Bubba’s first encounter with the bottle was the PIGEON Peristaltic PLUS bottle because of it’s wide-neck teat that’s supposed to replicate the natural sucking pattern learned at the breast. Of course in the first couple of days that we introduced the bottle, we were so afraid of nipple confusion but the Peristaltic PLUS feeding system suited us fine until she resisted the bottle when she hit three months. We freaked out! I went to buy up all the teats that were recommended by friends and on blogs that I read but she refused them all. In the end, we eventually settled on the Peristaltic Slim-Neck Nipple teat which we are currently using, so fingers crossed no more drama episodes in that department.

Besides using products from the bottle-feeding category, we are also huge fans of their hygiene care (laundry and wet-wipes)  and their cleansing plus sterilising care (dishwashing liquid and steam steriliser). So when I received the email inviting me to an exclusive preview of PIGEON’s new range of breast pumps, it didn’t take me very long to accept the invitation. I was actually excited about attending the event to learn more about their new products for the only breast-pump I’ve been acquainted with is Medela and that has sadly failed me twice.

IMG_0190The event happened last Saturday at Cool De Sac and the folks at PIGEON Singapore were really thoughtful for the invite also included Bubba if I wanted to bring her along. Well, I did dress her up and had the intention of bringing her along thinking that it would be fun for her to roll around the play area. But the time of the event coincided with her morning nap and Mom who very kindly accompanied me along decided it would be easier for her to push her around the mall in the stroller. So I attended the event on my own but thankfully bumped into Miss Ene and little E at the event as well.

IMG_0180
This being my first media event, I didn’t know what really to expect but failed on the account that I forgot to bring along my digital camera to capture professional shots for the day. Oops! I will do better next time. Thank goodness for the iPhone which I think did a pretty decent job of capturing these shots at the event. Phew!IMG_0179 IMG_0178The impressive set-up of balloons that greeted us with the most adorable inflatable animal balloons that we could take home after the event. It was quite an intimate affair with a couple of bloggers and the team from PIGEON Singapore who took us through the brand history of PIGEON via a video presentation and then took time to chat with us. The setting was casual and we were encouraged to share a little on our breastfeeding journey. The sharing was candid and most of us around the room could relate to some of the woes plus joys that breastfeeding brought. One thing for sure, determination to provide for our LO through breastfeeding is the common trait around the room.

IMG_0188

Ivy and Calicia from PIGEON Singapore also brought us through a short presentation on the new range of breast pumps that’s designed with the Asian mum in mind. It’s nice to know that PIGEON firmly believes in the benefits of breastfeeding and will continuously create products to cater to the needs of both the mother and the infant.IMG_0183With more than 50 years of experience in infant feeding studies, PIGEON has identified three key factors for effective breast milk expression in their latest breast pump range: Fit, Gentle Stimulation and Expression. Besides conducting extensive studies in product development at its R&D facilities in Japan, what’s interesting is that they have also collaborated with KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH) in Singapore to conduct a study among breastfeeding mothers of different race in Singapore.

3-Key-Steps

(Image from PIGEON Singapore)

The new products under the range are the Electric Breast Pump Pro, Electric Breast Pump Portable and Manual Breast Pump.

IMG_0181I was particularly interested in the Manual Breast Pump for I had an electrical breast pump already and despite it being small, I still found that it was difficult to bring around when I was out at work the entire day.

What I found interesting about the PIGEON’s new range of breast pumps is the Comfort ProperFit Soft Silicon Cushion that’s supposed to mould easily to the breast. This helps to provide a secure seal and comfortable fit that prevents air leakage during expression and this in turns allows mothers to maximise milk flow. Based on the research that PIGEON has conducted on Asian mothers in particular, PIGEON has customised two cushion sizes – regular (23 mm in diameter) and large (27 mm in diameter) – which are both included in each breast pump set that you purchase.

I realise that fit is very important when it comes to pumping. I know this because the cup size of the other breast pump that I’m using was initially ill-fitted for my use. I had to send my cousin to help get me the right size after a session with the Lactation Consultant who was appalled that I had been using the wrong fit for the first week of my breastfeeding journey. Well, I guess we learn along the way.

IMG_0184 After the hands-on demo of the new products, the event came to a close. We mingled a little over some light bites.

IMG_0185IMG_0186The team also prepared some gifts and we each had a box of customised PIGEON cupcakes to bring home. How thoughtful!

IMG_0187Guess who came to join us after? Little E! He’s grown since the last time we met! Couldn’t resist taking this cute shot of him pulling his little inflatable horsey. At that point in time, I wished Bubba was there to take a pic with him. But I know she’s still fast asleep if my Mom has yet to call me.

IMG_0222(Photo credit: Miss Ene)

Besides those gifts, we could also bring home the balloons. I took the Ladybug and the Panda one for Bubba to look at and play with.

IMG_0189Thanks again to PIGEON Singapore for the invite. I really enjoyed myself and have gained some insights on your new range of breast-pumps. Can’t wait to try them out for myself! So stay tuned! 🙂

Note: An invitation to this event was received from PIGEON Singapore. No monetary compensation was received. All opinions expressed are purely of my own.

2 thoughts on “Media invite: Pigeon’s new range of breast pumps

Leave a Reply

