Cocoonababy

Buying stuff for a tiny human can be quite challenging. Wait, let’s make it, buying things for a baby as a first-time Mum can seriously be challenging. During the prep for S’s arrival, I relied mostly on word-of-mouth recommendations and we did exercise restraint from over-buying as we were not sure if it was really necessary.

The Cocoonababy came highly recommended by a colleague who swore that it was a good buy for a new mom. Apparently her friend shared that the baby actually managed to have epic naps when sleeping in it. The price for this single item is rather prohibitive for something that baby could only use for about 3 months and I really thought hard if the item was really necessary. Friend also shared that if I am able to enjoy the precious time and sleep should baby does these epic naps, the cost of the item would totally be worth it. And just like that, I was somewhat bowled over.. the prospect of precious sleep when baby is here? Priceless!

So I braved the crazy Baby Fair at the Expo in April and scored the Cocoonababy at S$100 off the retail price. Now to put the item to test! When S arrived, we struggled with understanding how the Cocoon worked. After a while, we figured it out and placed her in it. As a newborn, she didn’t exactly fuss in it and she did have some epic naps in the Cocoon. But we kinda made the mistake of placing the Cocoon in our room which she only makes an occasional appearance during her first month as she slept in a separate room. Additionally, the Confinement Lady kept insisting that this gadget was like a heater as S would wake up from her naps with her back soaked in perspiration despite the room being air-conditioned. I guess you can’t have it all right?

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetBut just look at that face, she does look like she is having a good sleep in the Cocoon right? Looking at these pics kinda make me miss the little one when she’s all teeny tiny. Sniff.. sniff…

IMG_6353After the departure of our Confinement Lady, we shifted Sophie’s cot to our bedroom. The Cocoon was left in a corner and we only brought it to be used occasionally when she fussed and didn’t want to be put in her cot. We completely neglected the Cocoon until one day, I looked at the little girl and realised how she has grown. I also know that if I didn’t start putting her back into the Cocoon, she won’t be able to fit inside this gadget after 3 months. During that time, we were also battling with reflux and the shape of the Cocoon is said to help with the reduction of reflux. Desperate times called for desperate measures, so we placed S into the Cocoon again and kept her near. We found that it did help with her reflux and we will take anything just to have her sleep for anything between 2 – 4 hours.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

So where’s the Cocoon placed now? I’ve seen what some of my friends have done, placing their Cocoon into the baby’s cot so that’s what we did as well. I should have done this in the first place… sheesh! S seems to be taking to the Cocoon pretty well in her cot so we do still have some mileage out of this item after all. Verdict on the item, is it worth the hype and the price? I guess so. As new parents and a new Mom who’s sleep-deprived, I’m kinda willing to try anything that works and this gadget has been pretty good to us so far. Fingers crossed that it will continue to work.

What happens after she outgrows this gadget? Will probably loan this to a pal and then sell it off. So if you are interested in this, just leave me a comment and let’s see how it goes. 🙂

Update: Item is now sold. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Cocoonababy

  1. Fidelia says:

    Hi May I know if yr preloved cocoonababy is still available for sale ? Thanks! Can reach me thru email 🙂

    Thanks!
    Fidelia

    • Lady J says:

      HI Fidelia, thanks for your interest but the cocoonababy is currently loaned to a friend. I will decide if I want to sell it after she returns to me. Will update!

  2. Tingy says:

    Hi, I first saw your blog when I was surfing around for GR blogs and now again when I was surfing for cocoonababy! I hope sparky is doing well! 🙂

  3. Wynne says:

    Hi! I was surfing for some reviews of the cocoonababy and came across your blog. Did Sophie sleep longer in the night when you place her in it? My newborn is fussy at night and I’m desperate to find a way to help him stay asleep longer…

    • Lady J says:

      HI Wynne, I put Sophie in the cocoon when she was older and found that it helped. For friends who put their newborn in the cocoon almost immediately, they said this is god-sent! So if you are thinking about it, take the plunge! 🙂 Good luck!

  4. Jane says:

    Hi! Did you swaddle your baby when you put her in the cocoonababy? I have one and my newborn does seem awfully warm in it! We have the air con set at 25

Leave a Reply

