Books from NoQ

[Sponsored review]:

Days before S’s arrival, I received an email from NoQ Store wondering if I would be keen to join their sponsorship programme. I jumped on it for I had wanted to get some books for S so that we can instill a healthy habit of reading to her. On top of that, there was a parenting book that I had been eyeing for so I really wanted to get it and start getting some useful tips out of it.

When S came, obviously our lives turned topsy turvey and I didn’t have time to check out any of the book offerings during the first couple of days. When the dust kinda settled, I decided on some me-time and to shop for books meant for S. Hopped on down to NoQ Store and was bowled over by the wide selection of books available with various categories that will appeal to almost everyone.

IMG_6695With us entering into parenthood, I was keen to pick up ‘The Happiest Baby on the Block” by Harvey Karp (S$17).  The first few weeks have been quite challenging for me as a new mother, even with the help I seem to be getting, I feel really overwhelmed emotionally and physically. I feel like a mess most of the time and not sure what next to do when it comes to S. When I shared this with friends, some shared that I am in too much of a hurry and that things will eventually fall into place, I just gotta give it time. Hopefully with this book, I am able to pick up some tips and techniques to soothe S when she’s wailing.

IMG_6691Next, I popped in some books for S. The girl’s got loads of clothes, some toys and not enough books. She’s only interested in drinking milk, sleeping and peeing/pooing at this point in time but I hope in time to come, we will be able to read to her when she’s not screaming her head off.

IMG_6692Love the Peter Rabbit Nursery Rhyme Time book (S$19.46) which has most of the loved nursery rhymes that S should know about. The 3 tabs that divide the rhymes into classic rhymes, action rhymes and night-time lullaby rhymes come in hnady as well depending on S’s mood, we will know what rhymes to sing to her. I also hope with this book, the Man will also be more updated with his repertoire of songs to sing to S.

IMG_6693Next, got the Man a book to read to S. This book titled ‘Spot loves his daddy’ (S$6.78) is really sweet since it shows the relationship between a father and the kid (case in point: fur-kid). Want the Man to read to S when she’s slightly bigger too and hope that she will fall madly-in-love with doggies after. 🙂 IMG_6694 Last but not least, I saw a couple of friends with this book “Guess how much I love you” in most of their baby’s nursery so at an attractive price of S$3.57 for the mini version, I found it hard to resist. Popped into the cart and the size is portable enough to bring it out, so we will attempt to read this to her when we need to grab her attention.

There you have my picks from NoQ. I found the entire ordering process really fuss-free plus the site was pretty easy to navigate. Best part? I don’t have to physically search for the books at the store, risk not being able to find them all at one store and/or lug the books back from the store and everything will be delivered within 7 working days. Perfect for me since I can’t go out now.

Here’s a special deal that NoQ has very kindly extended to readers of Lady J’s Musings.

Receive an exclusive 15% discount on all purchases at NoQ store when you use the code Lady J at checkout. Discount code is valid from now till 31 October 2014.

So if you have yet to check out NoQ, do so soon!

Last but not least, if you have any books that I should check out that are suitable for S, please feel free to share your recommendations with me. Am definitely on a hunt to build up a library for her.  🙂

——–

Disclaimer : Lady J’s musings received a shopping voucher from NoQ store for this review. The exceeded purchase amount was paid for by Lady J and no additional monetary rewards were given.  All views expressed are purely of my own and written according to my experience in using the service. 
Leave a Reply

