Tokyo eats: Nodaiwa

Still doing a back-log of food entries from our Tokyo trip that suddenly feels so long ago.  I wish I could go on another holiday but I know it will probably be a while till we next go on our trip.  So these photos even those food ones will have to satisfy my wanderlust craving for now.IMG_4538The Man remembers ordering his take-away from Nodaiwa Unagi as part of lunch during his expat stint in Tokyo, he kept talking about it but it didn’t ring a bell.  I picked Nodaiwa Unagi because of the online reviews plus it’s one Michelin star rating was rather appealing without burning a big hole in our pockets.

Housed in a traditional Japanese house setting, stepping inside Nodaiwa felt like going into someone’s home of the past (not in a creepy way, so don’t worry).

Nodaiwa is famed for serving only eels caught in the wild and they have a couple of options for lunch menus starting from about 5,000 yen all the way up.  I went for the lightest menu for I didn’t feel like stuffing my face with too much food while the Man went for the largest set menu (he obviously could afford it).

IMG_4539 IMG_4540 IMG_4541The Man’s full set-menu had like several dishes ranging from appetizers to loads more.  I don’t think I took all of the pictures but above were some that I managed to capture. I’d rather concentrate on my modest set-lunch which was served just the way I liked it to be.

IMG_4545 IMG_4546The grilled eel was served with rice and a slew of condiments for me to enjoy the rice in 3 different ways – straight up, with loads of pepper or with a clear broth and yuzu bits.  No guesses which one I particularly enjoyed the best.

Nodaiwa
Address: 1-5-4 Higashi-Azabu, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Telephone: +81-3-3583-7852

Leave a Reply

