Checking out: The Little Diner

Had this urge to down me some really good burgers and truffle fries.  Went on this crazy search for online reviews and the truffle fries at Au Chocolat came up tops.  Tried those before but didn’t think that they were that great.  So what should I do?  Well, since pancakes/ waffles/ french toast never quite came off the list, I found a place that sort of marries both of my crazy cravings!!!  Little Diner along Bukit Timah Road then to brunch!  Hehe..

Checked out some of the pics that blog-friends have posted of this place, so I knew what I was going to have.  Burger/ fries and that red velvet pancakes.  Didn’t veer very far from my cravings wish-list!!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetFor a public holiday, the crowd was really quite good.  We didn’t manage to secure a reservation but walked in at about 11.15am.  Thankfully, the servers were really nice about it and gave us a table, informing us in advance that we have to return it back to them by 12.45pm.  Fine by us, if food was served  quick, we could finish those up quickly as well!

Read online that the service ain’t that great but I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff.  Our server recommended the XXX Baconator since we weren’t looking out for breakfast specials.  And when I asked about their famed truffle fries, he offered to change our hand-cut fries to truffle fries for an extra S$5.  Not too bad, for I don’t think we could possibly finish a whole order of truffle fries.

The XXX Baconator was I think a really good burger!!!  I’m probably deprived of beef protein of late!  Anyway, the beef patty was cooked medium well and the swiss cheese topped with bacon in every way, shape and form (ie: bacon strips, espresso bacon jam and bacon aioli) was seriously good!!! We polished the entire burger including those hand-cut truffle fries which I thought could add more of truffle essence to it.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetAnd surprisingly, there’s always space for dessert now or I just make me some space no matter what!  Little Diner’s famed Red Velvet Pancakes.  Other than the colour which looks nice on the pancakes, these actually were just rather ordinary.  I found them a little too sweet for my liking so skipped drowning the pancakes further with maple syrup.  I had them straight up instead with some creamed cheese and a little whip-cream on the side.

Would we come back?  Probably.  I heard the Truffle Mac & Cheese is pretty awesome and that Fish & Chips that the other table had looked really good as well.  So if we are ever in the hood (which is rather rare), we just might pop back in.

Little Diner
Address: 789 Bukit Timah Road, Singapore 269763
Telephone: +65 6466 4088
http://www.littlediner.sg

Leave a Reply

