Overnight Oats

Been trying to eat healthy and maintain a weight gain that won’t shoot up in the last couple of weeks.  Heard loads about overnight oats or Summer porridge as some may call it.  Actually, the peeps on my Instagram did contribute to my funny cravings.  I admit, I jumped on the bandwagon simply because assembling this breakfast treat was pretty.  I mean, look at this!

IMG_5352My feeble attempt and first time trying the overnight oats recipe.  This failed terribly for I didn’t stir the oats with the greek yogurt resulting in a rather painful attempt to finish off the oats as part of my breakfast.  As you can imagine, breakfast was hardly satisfying and I put off trying to make this for a while.

Fast forward to weeks later, I decided to make this again because the health benefits lured me.  Plus I read on some forums that having overnight oats as breakfast can actually boost the supply of breast-milk.  Now that’s an important discovery for I plan to breast-feed Bun when she’s here so anything that helps with the production of breast-milk supply, I’m willing to give it a try.  So might as well start now.  🙂

IMG_5351

Now we’re talking.. so even though this isn’t a properly styled picture of the Overnight Oats that I made, the important thing is that the recipe that I found online worked!!  This time round, I followed the steps closely and made some tweaks based purely on my taste-buds.  The result?  A yummy and healthy breakfast that’s pretty satisfying.  Other benefits for this include a breakfast that’s high in protein, calcium and fiber, low in fat and sugar.  This also helps to lower cholesterol.

If you are interested to jump on the bandwagon, here’s the recipe.

Overnight Oats with Blueberries and Nuts [Recipe adapted from The Yummy Life]
(Serves 1)

Ingredients:
– 1/4 cup uncooked old fashioned rolled oats
– 1/3 cup milk
– 1/4 cup Greek yogurt (I used flavoured honey Greek yogurt)
– 1 to 2 teaspoons of dried chia seeds
– 1/4 cup of blueberries
– Dried fruits and nuts as additional toppings (if desired)

Method:
1) In a glass jar or tupperware, add oats, milk,  yogurt and chia seeds.
2) Put lid of jar and stir/ shake until well-combined.  [Important to do this as you want the oats to soak in the moisture from the yogurt.]
3) Remove lid, add blueberries and stir until mixed throughout.
4) Return lid to jar and refrigerate overnight or up to 2 days.  Eat chilled.

[Updated] Love that the recipe is so versatile and I’ve gone on to make other variations of overnight oats swapping Greek yogurt with natural yogurt instead.  Also, I realised that if the oats are too dry, all I needed to do was simply add more milk to make the texture a little smoother before having them.

IMG_5677Overnight oats with Mango yogurt topped with Mango and Passionfruit Jam and a sprinkling of dried nuts and fruits.

IMG_5711Overnight oats with natural yogurt and cocoa powder topped with maple walnut granola.

IMG_5909Overnight oats with natural yogurt with cocoa powder and peanut butter.  This time, I topped the yogurt with some black cherries.  Plain and simple.  🙂

Leave a Reply

