What I did with Avocado [Recipe]

The sis recently came back from her travels and gifted me with a giant Avocado.  Sounds like a stange gift but fitting for I have been on an avocado trip – trying to eat healthily for the sake of Bun and hoping that if Bun ‘ingests’ avocado in-utero, then perhaps she will enjoy it next time.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

And when I say ‘Giant’, I really kid you not.  The avocado was huge!!!!  Check it out!  I’m wondering how long this will take us to finish since no one at home really enjoys avocado anyway.  Oops!

I went in search of a friendly avocado recipe that would at least excite the taste buds for the folks at home and chocolate somehow hits the right spot with the helper who also shares my love for baking.  🙂  A couple of recommendations from friends on Instagram included Avocado Gula Melaka Milk Shake, Guacamole and Avocado Gula Melaka Cake.  Thanks for the ideas and I probably will embark making some of these with the 3/4 of the avocado that I’ve left.

But during my search for recipes involving avocado, this particular recipe from Ovenhaven stood out.  I had all the ingredients at home and it looked fairly simple so I decided to make it one evening after work before dinner.  🙂  I must admit, the thought of Chocolate with Avocado does sound a little strange and when I suggested baking it, the Man threw me a look accompanied with a face that went, ‘I’m not sure if I want to eat it and are you sure you should be feeding that to Bun?!

Well, the end result?  It didn’t turn out as strange as it sounds.  In fact, I think it was pretty okay.  I followed the recipe closely but the cake turned out to be a little dense.  Nevertheless, the hint of avocado in this bread / cake was really light because the use of the cocoa powder and chocolate chips did help to mask the flavour.  I particularly enjoyed the cake and looks like will be the only being eating this whole loaf up in the household.

If you ever need to use up your avocado because they are nearing their shelf life, this could be one of the ways you could do it.  As for me, if I’m going to be making this again, I may just increase the proportion of chocolate chips to make the cake a little richer.  Hehe…

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 presetChocolate Avocado Cake with Chocolate Chips (recipe adapted from Ovenhaven)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup soft avocado, well mashed, about 1 medium avocado
1 cup milk
1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method:

1) Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius.  Grease your loaf pan with some olive oil and set aside.
2) Sift together all of the dry ingredients except the sugar.  Set aside.
3) Mix all the wet ingredients together in a bowl, including the avocado.
4) Add sugar into the wet mix and stir.
IMG_38925) Mix the wet with the dry all at once, and beat with a whisk (by hand) until just combined.
6) Stir in the chocolate chips.
7) Pour batter into the greased pan.
8) Bake for 45 – 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

IMG_3891Okay, we did encounter some problems during the mashing of the avocado simply because I under-estimated the ripeness.  Even though it looked ripened on the outside, when we cut it up, the flesh of the avocado was just about ripe and not soft.  So in order to ensure that the avocado would blend in well with the batter, we had to mash the avocado using a blender.  Thus, the above step halfway during the mixing process.

IMG_3897

IMG_3896All that’s left to do is to enjoy this seemingly healthy baked treat!  🙂

One thought on “What I did with Avocado [Recipe]

Leave a Reply

