Checking out: Jamie’s Italian

I haven’t been the best dining companion for the Man lately.  Actually for the past 18-19 weeks or so.  For the first trimester, I couldn’t really stomach much food.  Nausea acted up.  Now that I’m in my second trimester, the nausea has eased up but I didn’t really have an appetite during dinner.  I preferred to either have something light or fruits for dinner.  No, I’m not losing any weight.  It is steadily increasing because I eat throughout the day, just not at night.

So last Friday, I revived Date Night with the Man for I felt really bad that he has lost an eating buddy (for now).  He left me to decide on the place for I get strange cravings throughout the day that he could keep up with.  Truth be told, I feel that I’ve kinda lost touch with where are the hip and cool places any more.  I wanted to go to Vivo City to check out some of the baby stuff and maternity wear and I had wanted to try out Jamie’s Italian when it first opened its doors months back.  The long queues deterred me from doing so, of course, so I went online to see if there were seats available for an early dinner.  They had!  So it was off to Jamie’s Italian at Vivo for our date night.

IMG_2748A quick check online of the reviews on Jamie’s Italian wasn’t exactly the best.  When I told some friends that I was going to head there for dinner, some immediately said that the food there isn’t great.  Well, since I’ve already scored reservations, I decided to go with an open mind.  🙂

IMG_2749The place is pretty huge and looked like it could fit many diners.  We were there at 6pm so it wasn’t packed with diners yet.  Not sure if long queues are still spotted here.

IMG_2751

For starters, we had the Fried Three-Cheese Gnocchi served with a fiery spicy arrabbiata dip.  I’ve seen on some of the pictures on Instagram of ravioli chips served with a dip.  I must have been confused on perhaps it’s no longer on the menu.  I felt slightly disappointed with the 6 pieces of gnocchi set in front of us for I was expecting something more exciting.  Arh well.  This starter tasted simply like fried cheese served with tomato paste.  Nothing spicy about the dip at all.

IMG_2750Another starter that somewhat garnered slightly positive reviews is the Baked Mushrooms. Mushroom lovers, you may love this.  Loads of mushrooms served with crispy “music bread” and smoked buffalo mozzarella.  Halfway through this, I actually felt that they were too many mushrooms in the dish.

IMG_2752 IMG_2753For the mains, we shared the Tagliatelle Bolognese.  Nothing fantastic, in fact, it was a tad bit too salty for my taste-buds.  The Jamie’s Italian Burger also came highly recommended but it fell severely short on expectations.  The patty was a little too dry and the seasoning was forgettable.  Only thing really impressive about the dish?  The sheer height of the burger.

I don’t know if it’s the crazy pregnancy hormones that have been acting up but the meal was really underwhelming.  I guess with a big brand name like Jamie Oliver behind the restaurant, one would have expected more.  But this was really quite forgettable and I doubt I will head back there again.

Jamie’s Italian
Address: 1 HarbourFront Walk, VivoCity, #1 165-167, Singapore 098585 
Telephone: +65 67335500
3 thoughts on “Checking out: Jamie’s Italian

  1. fernoftheforest says:

    I seem to be hearing a lot of bad reviews too. But when I went there I really enjoyed myself. It wasn’t mind blowing but it was obvious that the menu stayed true to Jamie’s philosophy of using good quality fresh food. In the beginning, there were lots of Brit chefs brought in to run the kitchen, wonder if they are still there.

    • Lady J says:

      I guess its a hit and miss. I’ve read of bad reviews of other places but always try to go with an open mind. Was looking forward to some of the dishes but the food wasn’t really that great. 😦

  2. someone says:

    Did our research before going to Jamie’s for lunch with colleagues. We ordered the 30-day matured prime rib and the Red Snapper. Those were really good! Can’t say the same for the Tuna Fusilli or Crispy Squid. Those were not bad but not great though…

Leave a Reply

