Pregno Journo: Belly Care

So after hitting the 12 week mark (I kinda get confused between what the number of weeks the first trimester actually consists of, is it 12 or 14 weeks?), I embarked on applying creams on the belly.  A little paranoid on stretch marks and I wanna do whatever I can (for now) to help minimise that because I’ve been there and I’ve seen those stretch marks left on my thighs.  Boo hoo..

IMG_2160

So lo and behold, here are my arsenal of creams, lotions and oils that I’ve been religiously using on a daily basis (left to right):

  • GAIA Pure Pregnancy Belly Butter : Deeply moisturising and nourishing, it contains pure cocoa butter and organic shea butter, both well-known for replenishing skin’s vital moisture, maintaining suppleness and reducing the possibility and appearance of stretch marks. Made with organic ingredients without leaving the greasy residue that some butters have, the GAIA belly butter can be applied on breasts, thighs and bottom, or anywhere extra toning is required.
  • California Baby® Natural Pregnancy Nourishing Cream:  I’ve been a fan of California Baby products for babies and often find myself buying them as gifts for friends with newborn babies.  I didn’t know that they produced a pregnancy range until after a tip-off by S.  Upon googling, learned that products are safe to use from your first day of pregnancy and beyond.  California Baby Natural Pregnancy Nourishing Cream is loaded with a pure blend of high quality emollients and plant and flower extracts that offer gentle skin healing benefits like hydration and protection. I got a tube to try for MommyToon which was on offer but later found out that it was going to expire within a couple of weeks, that’s why it was on offer.  Good on the folks from MommyToon for emailing me to let me know.  As I ordered some GAIA belly butter as well, they gave me 2 tubes of the GAIA belly butter and threw in the California Baby Natural Pregnancy Nourishing Cream as a gift.  I used the cream but didn’t liked it at all.  Even though they claimed that it was lightly scented, I found the scent to be over-powering and the cream had this milky and watery texture which made the application process harder.
  • California Baby® Calendula Cream: Again, another tip by S who highly recommended that it’s a must to moisturise  your boobs, including the nipples as this helps to minimise cracked nipples which apparently is a nightmare.  So, after hearing the piece of advice, I’ve been religiously using this moisturiser for the itty-bitty bits which is perfect since it didn’t have a strong scent.
  • Clarins Tonic Body Treatment Oil:  This was such a treat to apply and I can understand why this would be Clarins best-selling body oil.  When a friend was preggers, she went through 2 bottles pretty easily.  I thought it was a little of an exaggeration but I really do look forward to applying the oil before I head to bed and also before I head to work.  The oil is made with 100% pure plant extracts including Rosemary, Geranium and Mint that helps firm, tone and improve elasticity, smoothing the appearance of stretch marks.  The scent is divine and the oil is easily absorbed into my skin (for some strange reason).  I purchased my first bottle from DFS at the airport and lucked out when Mom gave me a whole set of pregnancy products including this oil from Clarins for Christmas.  🙂  The bottle is a little cumbersome to handle, so what I do is to transfer the oil into a smaller plastic bottle and use the product from there.

There you have it, my belly recommendations for the pregno journo.  If you wish to purchase the California Baby Calendula Cream or GAIA Pure Pregnancy Belly Butter, you can do so via Mommytoon or DoolbyDoo.

One thought on “Pregno Journo: Belly Care

Leave a Reply

