Chicago Food Rave: Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe

Because I hit the sack early last night and the thunderstorm this morning kinda woke me up, I decided to ‘rise and shine’ instead of tossing around.  Couldn’t stop thinking about having me some pancakes or waffles this morning and decided to channel the ‘hunger energy’ I have to good use by blogging about the lovely breakfast we had in Chicago.  Thanks to a recommendation by Fern from Fern of the Forest who recently relocated to Chicago with her hubby and cute little doggy!  🙂

Didn’t really do much research on food places in the Windy City so was really thankful for this rec of breakfast places.  I guess there are no lack of good restaurants in Chicago because a quick search on Yelp actually revealed loads.

IMG_1643I also did a quick search of Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe on Yelp and it enjoyed a 4-star rating out of the 511 reviews.  Most complemented the pancakes but also highlighted the long wait.  We decided to take a chance since the day looked pretty good, headed to the cafe at about 9-ish / 10 and was greeted by a long queue of people waiting to get in.  The Man was bumped because I knew he was hungry (remember: Hungry Man is Angry Man!) but he also knew that I had wanted to give this a try, so we ordered our coffees, got one of those buzz thingy and waited outside by the pavement for our turn.

Wait was approximately 20 – 25 minutes before we got seated.  If I had a book, the time would be well-spent but the weather was so lovely that day, so I just sat outside and enjoyed the sun beaming down on my face in the somewhat cool breeze while the Man (who got bored of waiting) took a walk around the hood to see what else there was to offer.

After being seated, we knew what we wanted so we placed our orders immediately. Portions run pretty huge here and I wished we had shared instead of ordering each a meal.  We obviously underestimated the size of the portions once our server set them down in front of us.  Yikes!  Well, I guess it was our first meal of the day and we could make do with a smaller meal for lunch.

IMG_1644I read that the folks at Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe do a good corned beef hash so I got the Sizzling Skillet with mounds of piping hot potatoes and corned beef hash topped with 2 sunny side-up eggs and loads of melted Monterey Jack and Cheddar Cheeses.  This set was also served with either toast or pancakes so feeling greedy, I upgraded my normal pancakes to the Oreo S’mores Pancakes thinking that it would be a sweet treat.  Big Mistake for the mix was really too sweet for the tastebuds.   IMG_1646Just look at that!  Marshmallow sauce stuffed and stacked in the pancakes along with Oreo cookie crumbles, chocolate chips and chocolate sauce.  This would be any kids’ dream but unfortunately a dieter’s nightmare.  I couldn’t really stomach all of these and managed to eat off only the sides.  The Man laughed at me, of course!

IMG_1645His choice of buttermilk pancakes served with blueberries was definitely a far better choice and he was kind enough to share some of them with me.  Hehe…

Overall, a lovely breakfast sorted out in a jiffy despite the wait.  The corned beef hash sizzling skillet with all the potatoes and cheese actually was very good but my only gripe is the huge portion.  The good thing about the place is that they don’t encourage food wastage so if you can’t finish, there’s always an option of packing it back.

Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe
Address: 130 E. Randolph St. Chicago, IL 60601
Telephone: 312-938-9777
Reservations available Mon—Fri for groups of 6 or more.
No Reservations accepted on Weekends & Holidays
2 thoughts on “Chicago Food Rave: Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe

  1. fernoftheforest says:

    I like the hash too! Will note not to order the upgraded pancakes next time I go. I find the plain ones very fluffy and yummy already.

    Have you tried the Speculoos Cookie Butter? Might be sweet for you?

Leave a Reply

