Checking out: Department of Caffeine

The Man is away for the weekend and while he’s out with the boys, I hang out with my fave cousin for some girlie time.  🙂

IMG_0460Out to check out another new place that I’ve been wanting to check out – Department of Caffeine!  They take reservations btw so if you wish to avoid the wait or risk being turned away, just email or call them way in advance.  🙂

IMG_0461Was famished and since it was brunch, the cousin went with the DOC Breakfast Platter along with the Elderflower Lemonade which tasted really refreshing.  Loved the tomato that came along with the breakfast platter for it had a chilli aftertaste to it.  But well the cousin was taking another stab into the juicy tomato, she was shocked to find a strand of hair tucked in the tomato.  When we raised this to the attention of the server, they felt embarrassed and asked if we wanted them to change the entire dish.  We declined for we were more than halfway through the meal.  They shrugged and walked away sheepishly.  I wished that they could have taken a proactive approach to the situation and perhaps offer us another item or even offer to waive off the cost of that particular dish the cousin was having.  But no further attempt was made.  I guess service recovery could have been better.

IMG_0462Latte to kick-start my day.  Woke up on the wrong side of the bed and my lower back was aching.  Couldn’t move much but thankfully the early restorative yoga session did help relieve part of the pain.  😦

IMG_0463I choose the 63degrees egg served with hollandaise sauce, asparagus, smoked salmon over a crisp toast.  The egg was runny and reminded of the one I had at Jaan.  Overall, a satisfying breakfast.

IMG_0465 IMG_0466The highlight of the meal was this Lavender Honey Cake that has been making its rounds on my social media feed.  Loved the lavender floral bits on the glaze which made the cake look so pretty.  Taste-wise, it bordered a little over the sweet side and I’m glad we shared this for I doubt I could finish the whole thing on my own.  The cousin thought the floral bits were too over-powering.

Department of Caffeine
Address: 15 Duxton Road, Singapore, 089481

Telephone: +65 6223 3426
Email: deptofcaffeine@gmail.com

One thought on “Checking out: Department of Caffeine

Leave a Reply

