A healthy version of Bibimbap (Korean mixed rice)

Possible?  Yes!  With this version made with quinoa instead of rice!  🙂

Bibimbap is a signature Korean dish which literally means “mixed rice”.  It’s usually served as a bowl of warm white rice topped with vegetables, raw or fried egg, sliced meat and the all-important ingredient of gochujang (chili pepper paste). The ingredients are stirred together thoroughly just before eating.

When I was in my Korean drama phase, I recalled watching scenes where bibimbap would quickly be whipped up using whatever left-over ingredients one could possibly find in the fridge.  I love that it’s incredibly versatile meaning that you can throw just about anything and it will taste just as good whether served hot or cold.

Gochujang paste is now a staple in our fridge for it’s often used to make my fave comfort food – this dish or used as a marinade for baked pork chops.  I’ve now got another use for this hot pepper paste with Bibimbap whipped up in our home.

This dish is real simple to create at home.  I simply used whatever vegetables we have and for that health factor, replaced white rice with quinoa.

IMG_0423

Quinoa Bibimbap Recipe:

I don’t have the exact measurements but I simply put together bean sprouts, carrots/ cucumbers – julienned and some cai xin that’s steamed and lightly tossed in sesame oil.  I added mushrooms lightly fried with garlic in butter as well as my fave edamame.

IMG_0424

To assemble the dish, simply lay the quinoa in the center of the serving bowl.  Arrange the vegetables and meat (if desired) around the bowl.  Place fried egg in the middle of the quinoa and sprinkle sesame seeds on it.

IMG_0427

For the finishing touch, I mixed approximately 2 tablespoons of Gochujang paste along with 1 teaspoon of sesame oil.  Before mixing up the dish, I simply put the sauce on my egg.  The consistency was a little thick and not as watery as I would like it to be.  The next time I make this, I’m going to add some water to dilute the consistency.

Bought some Furikake (Japanese seasoning for the rice), so I added that to the meal as well.  🙂

This meal is definitely for keeps and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into my next bowl of quinoa bibimbap.  What veggies should I make along with this next?  Corn?  Spinach?  Kim chi?  Me thinks the possibilities are endless.

One thought on “A healthy version of Bibimbap (Korean mixed rice)

Leave a Reply

