Tokyo eats: a to z Cafe

The recent impromptu trip to Tokyo saw me spending a little lone time while the Man went about with his work meetings.  Had meant to meet up with a colleague but timings got messed up so my afternoon freed up.  Not quite knowing what I should do (didn’t quite make plans ahead), I whipped up the phone and tried to google for a nice cafe to suss out around Aoyama area.

A to Z cafe definitely stood out from the rest and I was determined to go look for it for well-known Japanese pop artist Yoshitomo Nara has helped put the design touches to the cafe.  Being a fan of his work which I think is ‘quirky cute’, I was curious to check this cafe out.

IMG_7062

It was kinda challenging to find this place but having read that the cafe is situated at the end of a small side street on the fifth floor of an unassuming building.  I kept my eyes peeled open for any signs.  Small cafes in Tokyo very often do not have flashy signboards but they might have a small billboard near their premises so do keep your eyes wide opened for these tell-tale signs. 🙂

Stepping into the cafe, I was thrilled to find that I missed most of the lunch-crowd.  Didn’t have to wait too long to get seated by the counter.  While waiting, I simply took my time to browse through Yoshimoto’s work that has been specially handpicked by the artist himself to be placed in the cafe.

IMG_7063

IMG_7064

Cute book of postcards by the artist himself.

IMG_7065The cafe offers a good mix of Japanese and western food which all looked very good.  Originally, I wanted to order a Pork don but was told that I could only have the daily lunch set.  Well, that’s fine by me as well.  The pictures of the set lunch did look pretty decent.

IMG_7067

IMG_7068Snapped more pics as I sat around and waited for my food.

IMG_7069This was the lunch set that I’ve been given.  For 1000 yen, I must say that it was pretty worth it.  There’s sashimi, a small serving of pickled vegetables, chicken, tofu, soup and rice.  Now that’s a full meal that kept my tummy happy.

IMG_7070As I chomped merrily on my meal, I was kept pretty entertained with Yoshitomo’s artwork.   In the middle of the cafe, one will find a hut that’s supposed to be Yoshitomo’s atelier.  I would have loved to stepped into the room and spend time going through his stuff but I think this room is off-limits to the guests.  Nevertheless, it’ was nice to peer in and take a look at the many paintings, drawings, artifacts that the artist had artfully placed around the small hut.

IMG_7072

IMG_7075

IMG_7074Loving this little corner of the cafe too.  If I were seated here, I probably would order a coffee, get lost and relish in the ‘me’ time as I watch the world slowly go by.

A to Z cafe
Address: 5F, 5-8-3, Minami Aoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo, JapanTelephone: +81 03-5464-0281
Website: http://atozcafe.exblog.jp/
 
 
3 thoughts on “Tokyo eats: a to z Cafe

Leave a Reply

