Revelation

I have never been a sporty person. For a good part of my growing-up years, I was chubby – actually, I was overweight. Yup, in Secondary School, I was one of the selected few that had to go for TAF (aka Trim & Fit) classes after school. I thought I was going to remain overweight all my life. I never really bothered about keeping fit and my parents never really forced me to lose the weight either. Then when I turned 19, I kinda just lost the weight. Dunno why and dunno how.. it just went away.

I remembered a remark made by one of my relatives exclaiming at my sudden weight lost – “Eh, you are a like a balloon that suddenly just lao hong (local slang for losing the air)!” Yup, it was pretty dramatic and some friends thought I could possibly make a quick buck selling my before/after mug-shots to slimming companies. I obviously didn’t do the latter, of course.

After losing the weight, I didn’t do very much to keep fit. Yeah, sure, I did the occasional weekly swims. But I got lazy from the trips to the public pools. The only form of exercise that I probably did rather regularly is yoga. When I say regular, I actually really mean doing yoga once weekly and missing a couple of months in between when work schedules got too heavy. Age finally caught up and the pounds kept piling because we started to enjoy the wine and dining experience with hardly any exercise routine built into all that eating.

I realised that my fitness levels were out of whack. So when we relocated back to Singapore in mid-March, I decided to do something about it in between the job search and the free time I had! Went back to yoga and signed up for a 3-month unlimited Power-plates session doing exercises which helped to build my core and strength.

I like to think that I have an incredible yoga teacher as I’ve been learning yoga from her for the past 6 years. She’s really fantastic! Never pushes me because of my lower back problem but always very encouraging. I never thought that I could attempt a handstand in yoga. Tried once and failed miserably because I simply didn’t have the strength to hold the inverted pose.

But after many weeks of practicing the pose, I’m really pleased that I could do a ‘near-perfect’ handstand (with help from my teacher, of course). Yippee!!! So here’s to a hopefully healthier lifestyle that I’m trying to build. ๐Ÿ™‚

I was going to incorporate jogging into my exercise regime but recently found out that I’m severely flat-footed when I went for a foot-test to see what type of running shoes would suit my feet-type. What are the implications for this? I haven’t quite done research on it yet but if you do know, perhaps you may wish to share with me.

8 thoughts on “Revelation

  1. serene says:

    wow! that’s amazing! i’m trying to balance right now with one leg. HAHA. i can’t even walk a straight line much less to balance! but it is definitely building something good in me! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lady J says:

      You will get there.. I haven’t been consistently practicing yoga but this took me a good 6-7 years before I can even do this. So there is def hope for u ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lady J says:

      Honestly, I never thought I could this. It was only after 6-7 years of practicing yoga that I could do this. And I doubt I was a good student. I don’t practice regularly enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

