im an old fart

Don’t mind this rambling post.. I guess I’m feeling a little more emotional turning old-er soon…

One day, it suddenly dawned upon me!  ‘Gawd! I’m really old! I’m seriously becoming an old fart!’

I stared at my 30+ year old self in the mirror and let my thoughts wonder.  My 20 year old self would laugh at this 30+ year old self.  She would never imagine that I would do the things that I told myself not to do when I hit the 30s.

For one, when I was in my 20s, Friday nights are strictly a no stay-home policy for me.  I’ll be hitting the clubs (Wine Bar, Zouk) with the girlies.  As I hit my late 20s’, standing all night became quite tiresome for us, so we hit the wine bars with cushy chairs instead.  Funny that in my 30s’, I actually long for some peace and quiet on Friday nights.  I don’t mind having a simple dinner with the Man or friends.  On some occasions if I have no planned dinners/activities with any of my friends, I wouldn’t even mind heading home to play with the fur-kid before popping in a movie and snuggling in bed while the Man heads out with the guys.

My 20 year old self would gripe and be a grouch if a friend cancels on me last minute without giving me any reason why the date is cancelled in the first place.  My 30+ year old self?  Well, I may still gripe but I am now more comfortable with the concept of personal time.  I’m happy running off to do my own things – either shopping or just hanging at home and surfing the fascinating world of online shopping.  I guess I’m also a little more understanding towards friends who because of family commitments have to cancel the appointment.

My 20 year old self would also probably laugh at how socially awkward my 30+ year old self may have become.  I find myself taking a slightly longer time warming up to new friends.  I also realised that I’m a little quieter and not so chatty on social occasions at work.  Maybe I just need a little more time to adjust to the old-new environment.

I could think of a whole list of things that my 20 year old self would laugh at this 30+ year old self but I’ll stop here for now.  This 30+ year old self is in a good place and is happy with what I have for now.  The 20s?  Yes, those were the good years and I will forever cherish those memories.  But, well it’s time to embrace the 30s wholly as I add yet another candle on the cake in a couple of weeks to come.

How about you?  What are some of the things your 20 year old self would laugh at your 30 year old self?  Would love to hear what you have to share.  🙂

2 thoughts on “im an old fart

  1. Snow says:

    Going to hit 31 in another month time, guess my 20 old self will laugh at how i enjoy cooking dinner for hubby after work on some weekdays, how health conscious i became, and my almost vegan diet.

  2. bookjunkie says:

    awesome post 🙂 I feel even more changes in my 40’s especially the further waning energy levels and the dismay at my wrinkles and other awful things.

    I may need to do a whole post in response to this one 😉

    hugs & warmest wishes for your coming birthday dear.

Leave a Reply

