Checkin’ out: Cafe Claire {Bangkok}

Ditched our usual buffet breakfast at our hotel in favour of Cafe Claire – a modern European bistro that came highly recommended by the Man’s friend.  Prior to making the reservations, I went on to the site to check out the description.  I was of course quick to judge dissing it for just another cafe in a hotel that probably had better buffet selection.  I was obviously wrong.

Located in the premises of Oriental Residences, I stepped inside the Cafe and felt like I had been transported back into Europe.  It’s decor was dated yet modern.

I love the different quotes on the mirror walls that lined the cafe.  This is definitely the modern touch added for I doubt you’ll find such decor ideas in the older cafes in Europe.

I was also half-expecting to see a delectable buffet spread.  Unfortunately, no such luck there.  A modest breakfast spread – yogurt, juices, bread, cereal was tucked discreetly in a corner for hotel guests.  Instead, our servers gave us two menus which listed a yummy spread of breakfast goodies.

I had the Madam Claire which was so-so good.  Ham sandwiched in between two freshly baked baguette and a pretty sunny side-up set atop the bread.  Yumz!

This is quite a typical scene whenever we go out to dine.  The Man snaps pics of his food and I snap pics of my food and his food.

The Man’s Eggs Cocette that tasted better than it looked.  I think I will try to recreate this dish at home.  Hmm.. spinach, bacon, tomato, mushrooms and cheese… that’s what I shall aim to do the next time we make breakie at home.

Cafe Claire
Address: Oriental Residence, 110 Wireless Rd., Bangkok, Thailand
Phone:  02-125-9000
Opening hours: 6am – 10.30pm
Nearest Train Station: BTS Phloen Chit
Leave a Reply

