Beach breaks..

When I was in my mid 20s, the only type of holiday I enjoyed was going on city breaks.  I love to check out the architecture, the shopping, the city skyline – in essence, whatever the city has to offer.  I can be on my feet for almost the entire day without a complaint – shopping and walking.

But I guess as I grew older and possibly coupled with stress from work (then), I find myself enjoying beach holidays more now.  The Man too.  Give us a nice resort with a decent-sized pool plus bar and you’ll find us almost stuck onto our deck-chairs soaking in the sun.   😉

Being back in Singapore also meant that we can now take more beach holidays or beach breaks as I like to call it.  Our island city’s location is really perfect for we’re surrounded by beautiful resorts galore thanks to our neighbouring countries.  Just a short plane-ride away and you’ll find yourself sitting by the beach/pool with a chilled Asahi beer.  It’s that simple!

The Man suggested that we take a weekend trip to Phuket.  He wanted some sun and a little relaxing by the beach to catch up on reading and sleep.  So that’s what we did the last weekend.  🙂

A friend stayed at the Sala Phuket Resort and Spa sometime back.  The resort looked very pleasant as I looked through the pictures so decided to book it for our little beach vacay.

And the room?  It was cosy but I loved the gorgeous chandelier that hung in the bathroom!  I actually pictured ourselves staying in the entire day but on day 2, we decided to head outdoors and laze by the common pool area instead.  No particular reason but the lulling sounds made by the crashing waves were a lot more inviting for lazing.

The resort is situated at Mai Khao beach which is further away from town, so most of the meals were settled at the resort instead of venturing outside to find for other types of food.  For a 2-day holiday, this was just nice for us but if you plan to stay longer and would prefer to try the local food, then it’s best you find a hotel closer to town.

What a relaxing break it turned out to be.  We both agreed that we should do more of such beach breaks (if the Man’s schedule permits of course).  I’ve been tasked to find the next beach break destination and I really can’t wait!!!

How about you?  Do you enjoy going on beach holidays?  If yes, what are some of the places and hotels that you would recommend?  I’d love to add those on our list if you would so kindly share!  Thanks in advance!  🙂

8 thoughts on “Beach breaks..

  1. fernoftheforest says:

    Pavillions Phuket and Alila Uluwatu Bali =) the husband and I love beach holidays at boutique resorts. We go at least twice a year and don’t care much for the local sights…we just want to chill, read a book and sleep!!

    • Lady J says:

      Thanks! I gotta check out the hotels that you recommended. 🙂 Like you, we also just wanna chill, read a book, watch some tv and catch up on beauty sleep. Hehe

  2. e says:

    I love beach holidays! I enjoy lazing by the beach and doing nothing!! Like what the hubs always says, you will feel good after a beach holiday. Fully recharge!!
    Whereas for a city holiday, you will be worn out at the end of the day.

    Can check out Danang, Vietnam, a beach destination. We stayed at Fusion Maia. It was good and you get unlimited spa!! Can also try Nam Hai, a bit pricey but heard from a friend that it was good 🙂

    • Lady J says:

      Yeah.. we totally love lazing by the beach too!!! Oh, I really wanna check out Danang. Heard pretty good reviews about Fusion Maia! Hopefully we will get to go there soon.. Friend stayed at Nam Hai and raved about the place but yes, we heard that it’s ex. ;p

  3. bookjunkie says:

    it’s lovely that you both have such a adventurous spirit. Deep down I wish to travel more..but the fear of flying hinders me. Luckily I have travelled quite a bit in my 30’s so I feel quite happy I did that.

    • Lady J says:

      Does lazing by the pool count as adventurous spirit? ;p I guess we just can’t sit still in a place for too long. Thankful that we both love traveling so that helps. And I think u are doing pretty well in the traveling dept, I really enjoyed reading ur travel tales. I guess it doesn’t need to be far but at least it’s refreshing to be out of our little island at times.

Leave a Reply

