An attempt to eat healthy

It’s been a while since I’ve baked anything.  Grateful for the mid-week public holiday, I was kinda desperate to get busy in the kitchen.  In an attempt to try and eat healthy, I thought of baking granola.  Been seeing loads of pictures by instagrammers and recipes on the www, so I was really tempted to try my hand at making some.

IMG_7773I eventually settled on using this recipe from E over at missus C’s reverie.  I figured that the recipe looked relatively simple and something I could manage.  Well, I was wrong…. :(

Breakfast Granola
adapted from missus C’s reverie

Ingredients:

  • 5 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • Handful of walnuts, roughly chopped
  • Handful of sliced almonds (I used whole almonds)
  • 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds
  • Handful of dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1-2 tbsp light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp salt

SONY DSC

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees C. Line an 18×13-inch baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together maple syrup, vegetable oil, brown sugar, and salt. Fold in rolled oats and nuts (except sliced almonds). Mix until the dry mixture is thoroughly coated.
  3. Transfer mixture to prepared baking sheet. Spread evenly to form an even layer.
  4. Bake for 45 minutes until mixture is golden brown in color. Stirring every 10-15 minutes. Add in sliced almonds and dried cranberries at the last 5 minutes of baking.
  5. Let granola cool completely before storing in an airtight container for up to one month.

Granola - 0While the granola was slowly baking, my kitchen was filled with a lovely maple scent.  I was so excited thinking that ‘I did it! I’m going to make an awesome batch of home-made granola good enough to share with friends!’

Turned out I was wrong.  The nuts that I added into the mix?  Well, some of them got burnt along the baking process.  Despite this baking boo boo, the granola still tasted great (enjoyed with yogurt/ ice-cream or on its own as a snack).  So, I had the burnt nuts removed and kept the rest stored away.

I’m not going let this little mishap stop me.  I’m going to try to whip up another batch of these bites.  This time round, I’m going to keep stirring the granola during baking to prevent the nuts from burning and put the baking tray a little lower from direct hit.

Send some luck along my way, wont’ you?

And E, if you are reading this?  Maybe it really is time for you to send me a batch of your granola to try? ;p  Hehe…

4 Responses to “An attempt to eat healthy”


  1. 1 Ai Sakura 1 May, 2013 at 9:56 PM

    Love your food styling here! Looks yum enough for me. Send some over? :p

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  2. 3 e 2 May, 2013 at 8:49 PM

    I’ll be making another batch tomorrow and will be so glad to send you some. Can you email me your address so I can send it over? :)


  1. 1 7 Quick and Tasty Breakfast Recipes Trackback on 29 September, 2013 at 5:41 PM

Leave a Reply

Lady J

eat | travel | style & everything in between

Facets of my life

Blast from the past

ladyJ_musings on instagram

Melt in your mouth roast meat platter!!! 😱

The count so far

  • 576,023 babbles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 305 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

