Cold pasta for the Summer

Talk about chilled pasta and I will think about the Angel-hair pasta with truffle oil and Sakura Ebi prepared by Chef Edwin from Yoyogi in Singapore.  I’ve tried the one at Gunther’s but somehow I still prefer the one at Yoyogi.

We were expecting some really hot temperatures here in Geneva (approximately 31 degrees – I know nothing compared to the weather that we get in Singapore, but it’s apparently considered very hot by the Swiss standards).  So, I decided to bring down the temperature a notch by whipping out my version of this chilled pasta.  I’ve tried this before in Singapore but it failed quite horribly so it was rather challenging for me to try and create this recipe here without the key ingredient of the Sakura Ebi.

Well, I guess I just had to improvise.  I spent the entire day ‘hiding’ at home and staying in front of my computer googling for chilled angel-hair pasta recipes.  The google search yielded very little results.  So again, this is a ‘mash-up’ of the recipes that I found plus some add-on’s from yours truly. Of course, it doesn’t quite compare to the one I had at Yoyogi, but it will do for now for a home-recipe.

Cold Pasta with White Truffle Oil and Ouefs de Truite

  1. Cook pasta (I used normal spaghetti but Angel-hair pasta or Capellini is preferred)in boiling water till al dente.
  2. Drain pasta and drizzle the pasta with olive oil and generous amount of truffle oil.
  3. Then, pop the pasta into the refrigerator to be chilled as this dish is best had cold.
  4. Just before serving, mix the pasta with chopped chives and add a dollop of caviar (we used Trout eggs).

Pretty simple but yet an elegant way to serve dinner.  This recipe may also be useful for last minute entertaining.  As for us, it was a great way to beat the heat as well as the Monday blues for the Man.  ;)

14 Responses to “Cold pasta for the Summer”


  1. 1 Pebz 28 June, 2011 at 9:03 AM

    Wowee! So pretty!

  2. 3 bookjunkie 28 June, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    The only cold noodles I have tried are soba..but this looks pretty especially those eggs.

    • 4 Lady J 28 June, 2011 at 2:43 PM

      Thanks bookjunkie! :) Yeah you could try this cold pasta…. it does wonders for the taste-buds in the heat.. hehe

  3. 5 girlontheave 29 June, 2011 at 6:11 AM

    i’ve been enjoying your pretty food styling very much:)

    • 6 Lady J 29 June, 2011 at 2:19 PM

      Thanks R… I’m a little obsessed with this new hobby of mine… Helps to not only pass time but I’m learning loads from this too. :)

  4. 7 imp 29 June, 2011 at 8:46 AM

    This looks absolutely delicious!

  5. 9 Kasey 13 July, 2011 at 2:43 AM

    Wow, this is gorgeous! This would be such an impressive dinner party starter. Where do you buy trout eggs?

    • 10 Lady J 13 July, 2011 at 4:05 AM

      You could get trout eggs at the seafood section of the supermarket or at a specialty store. You could also substitute trout eggs with caviar if you like. ;)

  6. 11 Caitlin 3 August, 2011 at 1:51 AM

    although the presentation isn’t nearly as good..this recipe from my blog today is one of my favorite summer pasta salads http://closetvanity.com/2011/08/02/summer-lobster-pasta-salad/

  7. 13 JoSpy 8 August, 2011 at 1:52 AM

    Very nice! I’m going to try it!


Leave a Reply

Lady J

eat | travel | style & everything in between

Follow me tweets

Facets of my life

Blast from the past

ladyJ_musings on instagram

Fresh strawberries specially hand-carried from Toks! 🍓 Super sweet even Sparky loves them! 🐶❤️🍓

The count so far

  • 572,941 babbles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

